NASCAR At Talladega Superspeedway: Start Time, Starting Lineup, TV/Radio Listings And More

It's NASCAR race day at Talladega Superspeedway, and we've got the actual race start time, the starting lineup and some other facts about the Aaron's 499 race for you below.

Start time: The command to start engines will be given by national championship college football coach Gene Chizik (Auburn) at 1:08 p.m. Eastern time (12:08 local). That might be interesting, since the 'Dega stands will have many Alabama fans as well as Auburn fans. The actual start time of the race will be 1:20 p.m. Eastern. So if you want to skip the pre-race show and just tune in for the race itself, turn on your TV set at 1:20. Waving the green flag today is the winner of an Aaron's contest.

Race name/distance: The race is called the Aaron's 499 because the furniture rental chain offers some deals for $99 a month. Get it? "For" "99?" Actually, though, the race isn't 499 miles. It's 188 laps around the 2.66-mile track, which is 500.8 miles. But who's counting?

TV and radio: As for all of the races through May, FOX is televising the Aaron's 499. The radio broadcast can be found on your local Motor Racing Network (MRN) affiliate. Click here to see a list of MRN stations where you can listen.

National anthem: Someone named Ashton Sheppard is singing the anthem today. We're not familiar with Ashton, but Google tells us she's a country music singer.

Last time: In an amazing race that will be hard to top, Kevin Harvick beat Jamie McMurray to the line in last year's Aaron's 499. The race featured the all-time NASCAR records for both lead changes and different leaders. Last fall, Clint Bowyer beat Harvick in a Talladega race that ended under caution.

Starting lineup for today's Aaron's 499 at Talladega Superspeedway:

  1. Jeff Gordon
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Mark Martin
  4. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  5. Paul Menard
  6. Landon Cassill
  7. David Ragan
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Brian Vickers
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Trevor Bayne
  12. Michael Waltrip
  13. Juan Pablo Montoya
  14. David Reutimann
  15. Bobby Labonte
  16. AJ Allmendinger
  17. Greg Biffle
  18. Regan Smith
  19. Brad Keselowski
  20. Carl Edwards
  21. Jamie McMurray
  22. Joe Nemechek
  23. Ryan Newman
  24. Marcos Ambrose
  25. Matt Kenseth
  26. Martin Truex Jr.
  27. Jeff Burton
  28. Travis Kvapil
  29. Denny Hamlin
  30. Tony Stewart
  31. Kasey Kahne
  32. Kevin Conway
  33. Steve Park
  34. Kyle Busch
  35. Dave Blaney
  36. Joey Logano
  37. Andy Lally
  38. Kevin Harvick
  39. David Gilliland
  40. Casey Mears
  41. Terry Labonte
  42. Sam Hornish Jr. (qualified for Robby Gordon, but Gordon plans to be in the car today)
  43. Bill Elliott
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.