Darlington Raceway 2011 Southern 500 Starting Lineup: Kasey Kahne Leads NASCAR Qualifying With Track Record

Kasey Kahne won the pole for Saturday night's Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway, breaking Jamie McMurray's year-old track record in the process.

Kahne, who went to Victory Lane in Darlington's Truck race in March, became the new track record holder with an average speed of 181.254 mph during his lap. He was more than a tenth of a second faster than Ryan Newman, who will start on the outside pole.

"Felt really good, to tell you the truth," Kahne radioed to his team immediately after the lap. "Felt really good."

The pole was the 21st of Kahne's Sprint Cup career and fourth at Darlington. Newman, Denny Hamlin, Carl Edwards and Jeff Gordon rounded out the top five.

Gordon was on the provisional pole for awhile, and noted that driving around Turns 1 and 2 wide open in qualifying at Darlington is "an experience of a lifetime."

Marcos Ambrose, AJ Allmendinger, Brian Vickers, Tony Stewart and Brad Keselowski rounded out the top 10.

There were a couple incidents during the go-or-go-home portion qualifying session: Scott Riggs blew a motor and Andy Lally scraped the wall, earning a big Darlington stripe.

Not surprisingly, those incidents caused their drivers to miss the race. Riggs and Lally both went home, along with Brian Keselowski.

Here is the starting lineup for the Showtime Southern 500 at Darlington:

  1. Kasey Kahne
  2. Ryan Newman
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Carl Edwards
  5. Jeff Gordon
  6. Marcos Ambrose
  7. AJ Allmendinger
  8. Brian Vickers
  9. Tony Stewart
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. David Ragan
  12. Jamie McMurray
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Kyle Busch
  15. Bobby Labonte
  16. Juan Pablo Montoya
  17. Joey Logano
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Jimmie Johnson
  20. Matt Kenseth
  21. Travis Kvapil
  22. Greg Biffle
  23. Regan Smith
  24. Jeff Burton
  25. Kurt Busch
  26. Landon Cassill
  27. Clint Bowyer
  28. Mark Martin
  29. Martin Truex Jr.
  30. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  31. J.J. Yeley
  32. Casey Mears
  33. TJ Bell
  34. Mike Skinner
  35. Tony Raines
  36. David Reutimann
  37. David Gilliland
  38. David Stremme
  39. Michael McDowell
  40. Ken Schrader
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Dave Blaney
  43. Robby Gordon
Failed to qualify: Scott Riggs, Andy Lally, Brian Keselowski
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.