NASCAR At Darlington Raceway: Start Time, Starting Lineup, TV/Radio Listings And More

It's NASCAR race night at Darlington Raceway, and we've got the actual race start time, the starting lineup and some other facts about the Showtime Southern 500 for you below.

Start time: The command to start engines will be given by a group of NASCAR driver moms at 7:37 Eastern time. (The driver moms aren't technically the grand marshals, though – that honor goes to Showtime's Inside NASCAR stars Michael Waltrip and Brad Daugherty). After a few pace laps, honorary starter Randy Pemberton (another name from Inside NASCAR) will wave the green flag at precisely 7:45 p.m. Eastern. So if you want to skip the pre-race show and just tune in for the actual race, flip your TV on at 7:45.

Race name/distance: The Showtime Southern 500 is one of NASCAR's great names, but some would argue it's not the same now that the date is on Mother's Day Weekend instead of the traditional Labor Day Weekend. Still, it's a prestigious race to win – and a grueling one at that. The Southern 500 is 367 laps and 501.3 miles.

TV and radio: As for all of the races through May, FOX is televising the Darlington race. The radio broadcast can be found on your local Motor Racing Network (MRN) affiliate. Click here to see a list of MRN stations where you can listen.

National anthem: You know the first pre-race ceremony since the death of Osama bin Laden is going to be inspiring and patriotic – and who better to perform the national anthem than someone from the military? Sgt. John Norman from Pope Air Force Base is doing the honors tonight.

Tickets: There are still tickets available for the Southern 500 if you're thinking of making a last-minute trip to Darlington.

Last time: Denny Hamlin completed his sweep of the 2010 Southern 500 weekend with a dominant victory, leading 104 laps to become the first driver in 17 years to win both the Nationwide and Cup race in the same weekend at the track "Too Tough To Tame."

Starting lineup for tonight's Southern 500 NASCAR race at Darlington Raceway:

  1. Kasey Kahne
  2. Ryan Newman
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Carl Edwards
  5. Jeff Gordon
  6. Marcos Ambrose
  7. AJ Allmendinger
  8. Brian Vickers
  9. Tony Stewart
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. David Ragan
  12. Jamie McMurray
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Kyle Busch
  15. Bobby Labonte
  16. Juan Pablo Montoya
  17. Joey Logano
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Jimmie Johnson
  20. Matt Kenseth
  21. Travis Kvapil
  22. Greg Biffle
  23. Regan Smith
  24. Jeff Burton
  25. Kurt Busch
  26. Landon Cassill
  27. Clint Bowyer
  28. Mark Martin
  29. Martin Truex Jr.
  30. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  31. J.J. Yeley
  32. Casey Mears
  33. TJ Bell
  34. Mike Skinner
  35. Tony Raines
  36. David Reutimann
  37. David Gilliland
  38. David Stremme
  39. Michael McDowell
  40. Ken Schrader
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Dave Blaney
  43. Robby Gordon
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.