NASCAR At Kentucky Speedway Starting Lineup: Kyle Busch Takes Pole After Qualifying Rainout

Kyle Busch's fast practice speed resulted in the No. 1 starting spot for the first-ever NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Kentucky Speedway.

Busch, who already has won at Kentucky Speedway this weekend, was the fastest car in the 90-minute Cup practice earlier Friday.

And when a small storm cell came through and washed out Sprint Cup qualifying halfway through the session, practice speeds set the field – at least for the top 35 in points.

"Car's been fast," Busch said. "Look forward to starting up front and trying to keep good track position."

Others weren't so lucky. Michael Waltrip and David Stremme had made it into the race via their qualifying speeds (21 cars had already taken laps), but the rain washed out their times.

The go-or-go-home cars were determined based on the NASCAR rulebook, which put Scott Riggs and Tony Raines into the show.

Juan Pablo Montoya will start on the outside pole, followed by Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne and Jimmie Johnson.

Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards, David Ragan, Tony Stewart and Paul Menard rounded out the top 10.

The starting lineup was set based on the first (and only) NASCAR Sprint Cup Series practice. Here's the starting lineup for the inaugural Quaker State 400 at Kentucky Speedway:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Juan Pablo Montoya
  3. Kurt Busch
  4. Kasey Kahne
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Carl Edwards
  8. David Ragan
  9. Tony Stewart
  10. Paul Menard
  11. Marcos Ambrose
  12. Regan Smith
  13. Matt Kenseth
  14. Jeff Gordon
  15. Joey Logano
  16. Martin Truex Jr.
  17. David Reutimann
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Kevin Harvick
  20. Clint Bowyer
  21. Greg Biffle
  22. Jeff Burton
  23. AJ Allmendinger
  24. Bobby Labonte
  25. Casey Mears
  26. Denny Hamlin
  27. Brian Vickers
  28. Mark Martin
  29. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. Joe Nemechek
  32. Dave Blaney
  33. Mike Skinner
  34. Jamie McMurray
  35. David Gilliland
  36. JJ Yeley
  37. Travis Kvapil
  38. Michael McDowell
  39. Andy Lally
  40. Scott Riggs
  41. Tony Raines
  42. Mike Bliss
  43. Scott Wimmer
Failed to qualify: Michael Waltrip, David Stremme, Robby Gordon, David Starr, T.J. Bell
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.