2012 NASCAR Driver/Crew Chief Changes: Your Guide To Offseason Moves

KANSAS CITY, KS - OCTOBER 07: David Ragan, driver of the #6 UPS Ford, stands on the grid during qualifying for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway on October 7, 2011 in Kansas City, Kansas. (Photo by John Harrelson/Getty Images for NASCAR)

David Ragan becomes the latest driver to find a Sprint Cup Series ride for 2012.

Have you taken a vacation since the NASCAR season ended the week before Thanksgiving? Perhaps stepped away from your Twitter account for five minutes or enjoyed some time unwrapping Christmas gifts with the family?

If so, you may have missed one of the gazillion personnel changes that took place in NASCAR's busy "offseason."

That's OK, though. We've got your back.

First, check out the changes to the Sprint Cup Series' driver lineup in 2012:

Driver Old Team New Team Car No. Announced
Kasey Kahne Red Bull Hendrick 5 Apr. 13, 2010
Danica Patrick N/A Stewart-Haas (p/t) 10 Aug. 25, 2011
Clint Bowyer Childress Waltrip 15 Oct. 7, 2011
Mark Martin Hendrick Waltrip (p/t) 55 Nov. 4, 2011
AJ Allmendinger Petty Penske 22 Dec. 21, 2011
Kurt Busch Penske Phoenix 51 Dec. 22, 2011
D. Reutimann Waltrip Tommy Baldwin (p/t) TBA Jan. 3
Aric Almirola JRM (N'wide) Petty 43

Jan. 4

David Ragan Roush Front Row 34 Jan. 16

Got it? Memorized it? Good. Because now comes the really hard part: All the crew chief changes for 2012:

Driver Old Crew Chief New Crew Chief CC Former Job Announced
Juan Montoya Jim Pohlman * Chris Heroy Martin eng. Nov. 22
Kevin Harvick Gil Martin Shane Wilson Bowyer CC Nov. 23
Tony Stewart Darian Grubb Steve Addington Ku.Busch CC Nov. 29
Jeff Burton Luke Lambert * D. Blickensderfer Ragan CC Nov. 29
Clint Bowyer (New team) Brian Pattie Montoya CC Dec. 5
Denny Hamlin Mike Ford Darian Grubb Stewart CC Dec. 9
AJ 'Dinger S. Addington (22 car) Todd Gordon Penske N'wide CC Dec. 14
Joey Logano Greg Zipadelli Jason Ratcliff JGR N'wide CC Dec. 16
Danica Patrick (New team) Greg Zipadelli * Logano CC Dec. 16
* - Interim

And which moves are still to come in this crazy game of musical chairs? Here's a partial list of available Sprint Cup Series drivers who haven't found rides yet in 2012:

  • Brian Vickers
  • Landon Cassill
  • Travis Kvapil (as of Jan. 16)
NOTE – The following teams which ran full-time in the 2011 season will not be participating in the 2012 season:
  • Red Bull No. 83
  • Red Bull No. 4
  • Richard Childress Racing No. 33
  • Roush Fenway Racing No. 6
  • TRG Motorsports No. 71
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.