NASCAR Charlotte starting lineup 2012: Greg Biffle leads Bank of America 500 qualifying

Greg Biffle said he's been down in the dumps lately with a disappointing start to the Chase.

A pole position for Saturday night's race at Charlotte Motor Speedway might lift his spirits a bit.

Biffle will lead the starting lineup for the Bank of America 500 after a track-record lap of 193.708 mph edged similarly fast laps from Mark Martin (193.361 mph) and Ryan Newman (193.251).

"I was super excited after that lap," Biffle said. "I drove it off into Turn 1 further than I thought it was going to work, and the car hooked the bottom and stuck. When he told me the lap time...I knew at that point it was a track record. I was pretty excited about it.

"That was a perfect lap. I hit all my marks just right on the button."

Chase drivers Clint Bowyer, Jimmie Johnson, Martin Truex Jr. and Matt Kenseth will start fourth through seventh, followed by Kyle Busch and three more playoff drivers – Denny Hamlin, Kasey Kahne and Kevin Harvick.

Other Chasers included Jeff Gordon (13th), Brad Keselowski (20th) and Tony Stewart (32nd).

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will miss the race after suffering from the effects of his second concussion in six weeks.

Joe Nemechek, Josh Wise, Scott Riggs and Cole Whitt failed to qualify for the event.

Here is the starting lineup for Saturday night's NASCAR race at Charlotte Motor Speedway (Chase drivers in BOLD):

  1. Greg Biffle
  2. Mark Martin
  3. Ryan Newman
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Matt Kenseth
  8. Kyle Busch
  9. Denny Hamlin
  10. Kasey Kahne
  11. Kevin Harvick
  12. Joey Logano
  13. Jeff Gordon
  14. Sam Hornish Jr.
  15. Bobby Labonte
  16. Trevor Bayne
  17. Aric Almirola
  18. Marcos Ambrose
  19. Carl Edwards
  20. Brad Keselowski
  21. Kurt Busch
  22. Juan Pablo Montoya
  23. Scott Speed
  24. Paul Menard
  25. David Ragan
  26. Regan Smith
  27. Casey Mears
  28. Mike Bliss
  29. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  30. Jamie McMurray
  31. David Stremme
  32. Tony Stewart
  33. Michael McDowell
  34. David Reutimann
  35. JJ Yeley
  36. David Gilliland
  37. Landon Cassill
  38. AJ Allmendinger
  39. Jeff Burton
  40. Timmy Hill
  41. Travis Kvapil
  42. Dave Blaney
  43. Reed Sorenson
DNQ: Joe Nemechek, Josh Wise, Scott Riggs, Cole Whitt.
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.