NASCAR Homestead starting lineup 2012: Brad Keselowski tops Jimmie Johnson in qualifying results

Joey Logano won the pole position for Sunday's NASCAR season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway, but it was Brad Keselowski who perhaps came away the happiest after Friday's qualifying session.

Keselowski will be third in the Ford 400's starting lineup and he'll start seven positions ahead of Jimmie Johnson, the man chasing him for the Sprint Cup Series championship.

The Penske Racing driver, who has a 20-point lead, said he didn't expect to qualify ahead of Johnson (10th) at all.

"Obviously, this is what you want to do – you want to qualify well," he said. "I really had no expectation of putting forth that solid of a qualifying effort."

But, he added, his team prepared for Homestead thinking it would have to win the race in order to win the championship (before Johnson's crash at Phoenix).

"The speed out of our cars is a reflection of that," he said. "I'm really glad that showed up, and we'll do our best to keep that throughout the weekend."

Logano, in his final start for Joe Gibbs Racing, earned his second pole of the season and will start alongside Marcos Ambrose.

Carl Edwards (fourth), Aric Almirola, Clint Bowyer, Martin Truex Jr., Kyle Busch, Mark Martin and Johnson rounded out the top 10.

Here is the starting lineup for Sunday's NASCAR season finale at Homestead:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Marcos Ambrose
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Carl Edwards
  5. Aric Almirola
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Kyle Busch
  9. Mark Martin
  10. Jimmie Johnson
  11. Matt Kenseth
  12. Kasey Kahne
  13. Greg Biffle
  14. Jamie McMurray
  15. Jeff Gordon
  16. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  17. Sam Hornish Jr.
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Ryan Newman
  20. Travor Bayne
  21. Juan Pablo Montoya
  22. David Stremme
  23. Kevin Harvick
  24. Regan Smith
  25. Michael McDowell
  26. Kurt Busch
  27. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  28. Casey Mears
  29. Mike Bliss
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. Dave Blaney
  32. Bobby Labonte
  33. Jeff Burton
  34. David Ragan
  35. Tony Stewart
  36. Josh Wise
  37. David Reutimann
  38. Travis Kvapil
  39. JJ Yeley
  40. David Gilliland
  41. Denny Hamlin
  42. Ken Schrader
  43. Scott Riggs

DNQ: Reed Sorenson, Stephen Leicht, Jason Leffler, Joe Nemechek

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.