NASCAR Texas starting lineup: Jimmie Johnson leads qualifying results again

Jimmie Johnson has done it again.

NASCAR's five-time champion and current points leader drove a courageous lap – one he called "the most exciting lap I've had in a long, long time" and was the only driver to top 191 mph during Friday afternoon's Sprint Cup Series qualifying session at Texas Motor Speedway.

In doing so, Johnson won the pole for the second straight week and for the fourth time this season after not winning any last year – a season in which he snapped his championship streak.

Clearly, Johnson is back and better than ever.

"We didn't unload like we wanted to," he said. "... It surprised us all a little bit to lay one down like that."

In a bit of superstition, Johnson sat in his car and refused to get out until qualifying was over. That entailed remaining in the driver's seat for 26 more qualifying attempts on a hot day in Texas.

When asked why, Johnson – who did the same thing last week at Martinsville – said he was determined not to jinx his lap by doing an interview on TV as another driver qualified faster.

"I don't know if it really works, but it kinda works," he said. "I don't believe it's sitting in the race car, although it's something to laugh at."

Brad Keselowski, who enters Texas two points behind Johnson, qualified eighth.

Greg Biffle, Kyle Busch, Clint Bowyer and Martin Truex Jr. rounded out the top five, while the top 10 was completed by Joey Logano, Trevor Bayne, Keselowski, Carl Edwards and Matt Kenseth.

Stephen Leicht, Kelly Bires and David Stremme failed to qualify for Sunday's race.

Here's the starting lineup for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway:

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Trevor Bayne
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Carl Edwards
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. Mark Martin
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Kasey Kahne
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Marcos Ambrose
  16. Jeff Gordon
  17. Sam Hornish Jr.
  18. Kurt Busch
  19. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  20. Casey Mears
  21. Tony Stewart
  22. Jeff Burton
  23. Kevin Harvick
  24. Jamie McMurray
  25. Juan Pablo Montoya
  26. AJ Allmendinger
  27. Paul Menard
  28. JJ Yeley
  29. Bobby Labonte
  30. David Gilliland
  31. Scott Speed
  32. Danica Patrick
  33. David Ragan
  34. Mike Bliss
  35. Josh Wise
  36. Ryan Newman
  37. Michael McDowell
  38. Travis Kvapil
  39. Reed Sorenson
  40. Dave Blaney
  41. Landon Cassill
  42. Ken Schrader
  43. Joe Nemechek
DNQ: Stephen Leicht, Kelly Bires, David Stremme.
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.