David Ragan captures Snowball Derby pole

David Ragan appears to have figured out Five Flags Speedway.

In an interview on Thursday with SB Nation, Ragan admitted that he has struggled at times with the famous Pensacola half-mile, finishing 27th and 18th in his first two Snowball Derby attempts.

On Friday night, Ragan moved one step closer to achieving his Snowball Derby dream by qualifying on the pole for Sunday’s 45th running of the Snowball Derby. Ragan took the top spot by turning a 16.485 second lap to best 59 other drivers including John Hunter Nemechek who will start on the outside pole.

T.J. Reaid, Kyle Busch and Chase Elliott completed the top-five.

“It’s just gratifying to come down and run with the best of the best,” Ragan said. “This race has so much history and some of my Georgia racing heroes like Ronnie Sanders has been able to win and now we’re on the pole.

“It’s gets harder on Sunday.”

Friday's qualifying session only locked-in 33 of the 37 starting spots. The fastest 30 drivers qualified for the Snowball Derby and three others; Mike Garvey, Logan Boyett and Steve Wallace joined them based on their provisional status.

The final four spots will be decided upon in a last chance race at 4 p.m. on Saturday afternoon (more on that in my next post)

Here's the complete Snowball Derby qualifying results (Not a starting lineup):

  1. David Ragan
  2. John Hunter Nemechek
  3. T.J. Reaid
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Jeremy Pate
  7. Bubba Pollard
  8. Daniel Hemric
  9. Erik Jones
  10. Stephen Nasse
  11. Brad Rogers
  12. Hunter Robbins
  13. Augie Grill
  14. Jeff Choquette
  15. Dwayne Buggay
  16. Chuck Barnes Jr
  17. Kyle Benjamin
  18. Ben Kennedy
  19. Clay Alexander
  20. Steve Dorer
  21. Johanna Long
  22. Casey Smith
  23. Nelson Piquet Jr
  24. Donnie Wilson
  25. Ross Kenseth
  26. D.J. Vanderley
  27. David Rogers
  28. Chris Davidson
  29. Kyle Jones
  30. Grant Enfinger
  31. Brian Campbell
  32. Mike Garvey
  33. Paul Kelley
  34. Austin Theriault
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. Allen Karnes
  37. Stephan McCurley
  38. Dennis Prunty
  39. A.J. Frank
  40. Anderson Bowen
  41. Danny Bagwell
  42. Logan Boyett
  43. Dalton Grindle
  44. Steven Wallace
  45. Jeff Fultz
  46. Kyle Grissom
  47. Cole Powell
  48. Dennis Schoenfeld
  49. Wayne Niedecken Jr.
  50. Spencer Davis
  51. Scott Carlson
  52. Tim Martin
  53. Kenzie Ruston
  54. Roger Reuse
  55. Matt Smith
  56. Erik Darnell
  57. Brandon Watson
  58. Mason Mingus
  59. Chuck Tuck
  60. Ron McDonald

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.