Snowball Derby 2012: Start time, lineup, online radio schedule, live streaming info and more

It's Snowball Derby race day at Pensacola Five Flags Speedway, and we've got the actual race start time, the starting lineup and some other facts about the Super Bowl of Super Late Model racing.

What time does the race start today?

As is tradition, the Snowball Derby will start at 2 p.m. CST. The command to fire engines and the official start of the race will begin shortly after the top of the hour.

Race name/distance: Today's race is the Snowball Derby, which is 300 laps and 150 miles to close out the Super Late Model season.

Radio and live streaming: Today's race is not on television. There is however a live radio broadcast of today's race, which can be found at with supplemental coverage provided via the site's Trackside Now coverage. The radio broadcast begins at 12 p.m. CST.

*** NOTE: If you're out and about today and can't listen to the race, make sure to follow me (@MattWeaverSBN) on Twitter. I'll be tweeting live updates throughout the event. ***

National anthem: Nashville recording artist Stephanie Quayle will sing the national anthem on Sunday at Five Flags Speedway. Shailee Cole will serve as the trophy girl.

Tickets: Five Flags Speedway has not announced a complete sellout but grandstand tickets are sparse and limited to general admission seating. If you're in the area and have decided to come out, plan to park in the Fairgrounds parking lot to receive a free shuttle ride to the ticket booth.

Weather: The unofficial NASCAR weatherman, Brian Neudorff, says today's weather in the Gulf Coast will be somewhat cool and sunny with temperatures in the mid-70s.

Last year: One year ago, in what's being called the greatest finish in Snowball Derby history, Chase Elliott and DJ VanderLey battled side-by-side for the last five laps of the race with Elliott edging VanderLey by just 0.229 -- the closest finish in race history,

Here's the starting lineup for the 45th Annual Snowball Derby. The top-30 spots were decided during qualifying with Paul Kelley, Brian Campbell, Austin Theriault and Jeff Fultz earning the final four spots in Saturday’s last chance race.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver David Ragan is on the pole.

  1. David Ragan
  2. John Hunter Nemechek
  3. T.J. Reaid
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Jeremy Pate
  7. Bubba Pollard
  8. Daniel Hemric
  9. Erik Jones
  10. Stephen Nasse
  11. Brad Rogers
  12. Hunter Robbins
  13. Augie Grill
  14. Jeff Choquette
  15. Dwayne Buggay
  16. Chuck Barnes Jr
  17. Kyle Benjamin
  18. Ben Kennedy
  19. Clay Alexander
  20. Steve Dorer
  21. Johanna Long
  22. Casey Smith
  23. Nelson Piquet, Jr.
  24. Donnie Wilson
  25. Ross Kenseth
  26. D.J. Vanderley
  27. David Rogers
  28. Chris Davidson
  29. Kyle Jones
  30. Grant Enfinger
  31. Paul Kelley
  32. Brian Campbell
  33. Austin Theriault
  34. Jeff Fultz
  35. Mike Garvey
  36. Logan Boyett
  37. Steve Wallace
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.