NASCAR Daytona Nationwide Series Results: 2012 Drive4COPD 300

In a weekend of unlikely winners, James Buescher took the checkered flag under caution in Saturday's Drive4COPD 300 Nationwide Series race with wreckage from the cars of the likely winners strewn behind him in Turn 4 at Daytona International Speedway.

Buescher, a first-time winner in the series, took advantage of a last-lap wreck involving front-runners Trevor Bayne, Tony Stewart, Elliott Sadler, Joey Logano, Kurt Busch, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Kyle Busch to score the victory, one day after rookie John King won his first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race in his first trip to Daytona.

Brad Keselowski dodged the wreck to finish second, with Elliott Sadler coming home third in the unofficial results.

A race that had been peppered with minor incidents produced a huge one on Lap 104, when the front of the field accordioned in Turn 4, and cars began checking up and wrecking mid-pack. All told, 20 cars were involved in the crash, including the machines of Denny Hamlin, Kenny Wallace and Justin Allgaier.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. ducked to the bottom of the track to avoid the wreck and sustained minor damage to the right side of his Chevrolet. After a four-minute stoppage to pry the splitter from Wallace's wrecked car from the Turn 4 wall, Earnhardt restarted 14th on Lap 113.

But Earnhardt fell victim to a 14-car pileup one lap later when contact from David Ragan's Ford turned Sam Hornish's Dodge to trigger the multicar wreck.

Pole-sitter Danica Patrick exited the race on Lap 49, after a hard tap from Cole Whitt, her teammate at JR Motorsports, knocked Patrick's No. 7 Chevrolet out of control and into the Turn 3 wall.

Patrick's team pushed the car to the garage for extensive repairs, losing 48 laps in the process. She returned to the track on Lap 98 and finished 38th, an inauspicious start to a championship campaign.

Here are the results from the NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Daytona today:

  1. James Buescher
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Elliott Sadler
  4. Cole Whitt
  5. Austin Dillon
  6. Tayler Malsam
  7. Timmy Hill
  8. Tony Stewart
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Kurt Busch
  11. Trevor Bayne
  12. Benny Gordon
  13. Danny Efland
  14. Josh Wise
  15. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  16. Joey Logano
  17. Blake Koch
  18. Kyle Busch
  19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  20. Sam Hornish Jr.
  21. Johanna Long
  22. Eric McClure
  23. Joe Nemechek
  24. T.J. Bell
  25. Jeremy Clements
  26. David Ragan
  27. Michael Annett
  28. Mike Wallace
  29. Joey Gase
  30. Kenny Wallace
  31. Ryan Truex
  32. Denny Hamlin
  33. Justin Allgaier
  34. Reed Sorenson
  35. Robert Richardson Jr.
  36. Casey Roderick
  37. Brian Scott
  38. Danica Patrick
  39. Mike Bliss
  40. JJ Yeley
  41. Jason Bowles
  42. Johnny Sauter
  43. Jeff Green
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.