NASCAR Fontana Race Day Weather Forecast 2012: Rain Expected By Green Flag

**12 p.m. EDT Update***
On Radar, rain was estimated 70 miles east of Auto Club Speedway. It's moving very slowly to the east. Estimated time of arrival at the track is between 2 p.m. EDT (11 a.m. PDT) and 4 p.m. EDT (1 p.m. EDT) This may open a window of opportunity to get the race started, and maybe to halfway but the odds are still low. If they get started this afternoon getting the full 400 miles appears out of the question.

Unfortunately for NASCAR and race fans in California, there's been no change to the Auto Club Speedway weather forecast for later this afternoon.

Previous Update

Rain and light drizzle will spread across the area between 12 p.m. EDT (9 a.m. PDT) and 3 p.m. EDT (12 p.m. PDT). With green flag scheduled for 3:16 p.m. EDT (12:16 p.m. PDT), even if NASCAR were to move the start time up a couple of minutes, it doesn't look like it would beat the rain.

Once the rain arrives this morning, it looks to continue into the evening and increase in intensity as we go into the afternoon. It will be cooler with highs only in the mid-to-upper 50s, and Auto Club Speedway is under a wind advisory with potential wind gusts of 30-40 mph out of the south-southwest.

MONDAY'S WEATHER FORECAST

Given the information and weather data presented, I fully expect a Monday race. Based on comments on Twitter and Facebook, many race fans would love to see another Monday night race. That doesn't seem likely knowing that NASCAR would love to run the race as early as possible and with the rain ending early Monday morning, I could see them running the Auto Club 400 at 1 p.m EDT on Monday.

For the latest information on weather conditions, please follow me on Twitter (@NASCAR_WXMAN) and like me on Facebook for the latest weather updates through the week.

Conditions in Fontana, CA: Click here for Current Weather Conditions | Look at Doppler Radar | Mobile Friendly Site | Mobile Radar

SUNDAY:
1:00 p.m. EST
Sprint Cup pre-race – Mostly cloudy with likely rain showers and drizzle – temp: 52
3:00 p.m. EST
Sprint Cup race – Cloudy, windy, with rain showers and drizzle – temp: 55
5:00 p.m. EST
Sprint Cup race – Cloudy windy, with rain showers and drizzle – temp: 58

MONDAY:
1:00 p.m. EST
Sprint Cup race (possible back-up time) – Partly sunny cool – temp: 52

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.