NASCAR Brickyard 400 Results 2012: Jimmie Johnson Wins Fourth Indianapolis Race

Team owner Rick Hendrick may have had better days -- but not many.

Hendrick watched as Jimmie Johnson won Sunday's Crown Royal 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, taking the checkered flag 4.758 seconds ahead of runner-up Kyle Busch and tying teammate Jeff Gordon for most NASCAR Sprint Cup Series wins at the Brickyard -- four.

The victory was Johnson's third of the season -- all but assuring he will remain the only driver to have qualified for the Chase for the Sprint Cup each year since the inception of NASCAR's playoff format in 2004. Johnson won for the 58th time, leaving him eighth on the all-time list and second to Gordon among active drivers.

A fourth-place finish propelled Hendrick teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr. into the lead in the series standings, after points leader Matt Kenseth wrecked out in 35th place.

Greg Biffle came home third, followed by Earnhardt and Gordon. Pole-sitter Denny Hamlin, Ryan Newman, Martin Truex Jr., Brad Keselowski and Tony Stewart completed the top 10.

The last time Earnhardt led the Cup standings was October 2004 after Talladega, but he held the top spot for only two days, thanks to a 25-point NASCAR penalty for cursing during a post-race television interview.

Racing side-by-side with Trevor Bayne on Lap 132, Joey Logano spun his No. 20 Toyota, bounced off the No. 47 Camry of Bobby Labonte and wiped out the No. 17 Ford of Kenseth, who was running near the outside wall, trying to slip past the wreck.

Carl Edwards' first race with new crew chief Chad Norris went awry nearly from the outset. Edwards started second and contested the lead with Denny Hamlin for half a lap, but lost power and slowed on Lap 12 and brought his car to pit road.

By the time the No. 99 crew had the issue straightened out -- after a green-flag pit stop followed by another under yellow on Lap 42 -- Edwards was four laps down and effectively out of contention -- not the sort of effort he needed in a winless season with a Chase position on the line. Edwards finished 29th.

Here are the full results from Sunday's NASCAR race at the Brickyard:

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Greg Biffle
  4. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  5. Jeff Gordon
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Tony Stewart
  11. Mark Martin
  12. Kasey Kahne
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Paul Menard
  15. Clint Bowyer
  16. Sam Hornish Jr.
  17. Trevor Bayne
  18. Regan Smith
  19. Aric Almirola
  20. Marcos Ambrose
  21. Juan Pablo Montoya
  22. Jamie McMurray
  23. Dave Blaney
  24. David Stremme
  25. Landon Cassill
  26. Bobby Labonte
  27. David Gilliland
  28. David Ragan
  29. Carl Edwards
  30. Ken Schrader
  31. Stephen Leicht
  32. Jeff Burton
  33. Joey Logano
  34. Casey Mears
  35. Matt Kenseth
  36. Kurt Busch
  37. Travis Kvapil
  38. Scott Speed
  39. JJ Yeley
  40. Josh Wise
  41. Scott Riggs
  42. Mike Skinner
  43. Mike Bliss
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.