NASCAR Watkins Glen Results 2012: Marcos Ambrose, Brad Keselowski Have Memorable Finish (VIDEO)

In a wild final two laps that rivaled any race in recent memory for unrelenting action, Marcos Ambrose out-dueled Brad Keselowski to win Sunday's Finger Lakes 355 at Watkins Glen International.

Kyle Busch had the lead at the white flag, but slid in a patch of oil exiting Turn 1 on the final lap. Keselowski likewise slid in the oil, hit Busch's No. 18 Toyota and spun it. For the rest of the final lap, Ambrose and Keselowski raced side-by-side for the lead, with Ambrose finally clearing the No. 2 Dodge in the last corner.

The victory was Ambrose's second straight at Watkins Glen and the second of his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series career. Jimmie Johnson finished third and took over the series lead by one point over Greg Biffle, who wound up sixth. Clint Bowyer was fourth, followed by Sam Hornish Jr., Biffle and Busch.

Tony Stewart finished on the bottom end of a roller-coaster day. Starting from the rear of the field for dragging a gas can from his pits under caution on Lap 27, Stewart charged toward the front and was running second to Keselowski when he spun in Turn 7 on Lap 72 and backed his No. 14 Chevy into the guardrail.

That left Keselowski and Ambrose to restart 1-2 on Lap 75 in the 90-lap race, but before the two front-row cars cleared the first corner, Busch took them three-wide to the inside and grabbed the lead. After a protracted battle with Keselowski, Ambrose took over the second position on Lap 81 but couldn't gain ground on the race winner.

Keselowski retook the second position in Turn 5 on Lap 89 -- and then the fireworks started.

Here are the results from Sunday's NASCAR race at Watkins Glen:

  1. Marcos Ambrose
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Sam Hornish Jr.
  6. Greg Biffle
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Matt Kenseth
  9. Regan Smith
  10. Martin Truex Jr.
  11. Ryan Newman
  12. Paul Menard
  13. Kasey Kahne
  14. Carl Edwards
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Casey Mears
  17. Scott Speed
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Tony Stewart
  20. David Gilliland
  21. Jeff Gordon
  22. David Ragan
  23. Landon Cassill
  24. Travis Kvapil
  25. Boris Said
  26. Stephen Leicht
  27. Bobby Labonte
  28. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  29. Joe Nemechek
  30. Jeff Burton
  31. Kurt Busch
  32. Joey Logano
  33. Juan Pablo Montoya
  34. Denny Hamlin
  35. Jason Leffler
  36. Dave Blaney
  37. Michael McDowell
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Jamie McMurray
  40. JJ Yeley
  41. Chris Cook
  42. Patrick Long
  43. Brian Vickers

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.