NASCAR Bristol Results: Joey Logano Wins Nationwide Series Race

Passing Kevin Harvick for the lead on Lap 216 of 250, Joey Logano held on to win Friday night's Food City 250 NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Bristol Motor Speedway, winning his series-best sixth victory of the season.

Logano, who posted his 15th career win and his first at the .533-mile short track, outran runner-up Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and crossed the finish line .503 seconds ahead of the defending series champion. Kyle Busch ran third, followed by Austin Dillon and Nationwide points leader Elliott Sadler, who was pushed aside by Stenhouse after a restart on Lap 249 and lost three positions over the final two laps.

Harvick took the lead for the first time on Lap 118 with a two-tire stop under the sixth caution, for Fain Skinner's spin off Turn 2. On left-side tires that were mounted on his Chevrolet on Lap 47, Harvick kept Logano in his mirror until Benny Gordon's spin in Turn 4 on Lap 171 caused the seventh yellow.

Logano, on fresher rubber, harried Harvick after the ensuing restart on Lap 181, but it took Logano 35 more laps to make the winning pass. Ultimately, Logano used the lapped car of Jeremy Clements as a pick, trapped Harvick to the outside and sailed past in the low groove.

When John Wes Townley's Toyota slammed into the Turn 4 wall on Lap 225, Harvick had to give up the second position and pit for fuel, dropping the No. 33 from contention.

With eight laps left, Dillon's Chevrolet collided with the Ford of pole-sitter Trevor Bayne, causing the ninth and final caution of the race. That set up the two-lap dash to the finish, with Logano clearing Sadler through the first two corners.

Despite a penalty for speeding while exiting pit road under caution on Lap 175, Danica Patrick worked her way up to a ninth-place from the 34th starting position.

Here are the results from Friday night's NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Bristol Motor Speedway:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Austin Dillon
  5. Elliott Sadler
  6. Cole Whitt
  7. Ryan Blaney
  8. Michael Annett
  9. Danica Patrick
  10. Sam Hornish Jr.
  11. Joe Nemechek
  12. Tayler Malsam
  13. Mike Bliss
  14. Kasey Kahne
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Trevor Bayne
  17. Mike Wallace
  18. Jason Bowles
  19. Josh Richards
  20. Kevin Lepage
  21. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  22. Benny Gordon
  23. John Wes Townley
  24. Robert Richardson Jr.
  25. Timmy Hill
  26. Brad Teague
  27. Eric McClure
  28. Fain Skinner
  29. Johanna Long
  30. Justin Allgaier
  31. Joey Gase
  32. Brad Keselowski
  33. Jeremy Clements
  34. Brian Scott
  35. Erik Darnell
  36. Rick Crawford
  37. Carl Long
  38. Scott Riggs
  39. David Starr
  40. Josh Wise
  41. Tim Andrews
  42. Jeff Green
  43. Chase Miller
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.