NASCAR New Hampshire Results 2012: Denny Hamlin Picks Up Dominating Win

Denny Hamlin won Sunday's Sylvania 300 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway – and it was no contest in the second race of NASCAR's Chase.

Though he started deep in the field, Hamlin drove his vastly superior car to a 2.675-second victory over runner-up Jimmie Johnson. The victory was Hamlin's fifth of the season and the 22nd of his Cup career.

Pole-sitter Jeff Gordon ran third to keep his faint championship hopes alive. Clint Bowyer, Kasey Kahne, Brad Keselowski and Tony Stewart ran fourth through seventh, as Chase drivers swept the top seven spots.

Hamlin started 32nd because of a mistake with tire pressures during Friday's time trials, but before the race had reached Lap 100, the driver of the No. 11 Toyota had the lead. Hamlin passed Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch on Lap 94 and proceeded to dust the field the rest of the way.

Hamlin held a lead of more than seven seconds over Johnson when NASCAR called the third debris caution of the race, and fourth overall, on Lap 272. The yellow bunched the field, but it didn't matter, as Hamlin sped away after a restart on Lap 278 and easily held off Johnson, who finished second for the second straight race and took the Chase lead by one point over Keselowski.

Here are the NASCAR results today from New Hampshire:

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Jeff Gordon
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Kasey Kahne
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Tony Stewart
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Brian Vickers
  10. Ryan Newman
  11. Kevin Harvick
  12. Paul Menard
  13. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  14. Matt Kenseth
  15. Jeff Burton
  16. Regan Smith
  17. Martin Truex Jr.
  18. Greg Biffle
  19. Carl Edwards
  20. Bobby Labonte
  21. Sam Hornish Jr.
  22. Juan Pablo Montoya
  23. Aric Almirola
  24. Marcos Ambrose
  25. Kurt Busch
  26. Jamie McMurray
  27. Landon Cassill
  28. Kyle Busch
  29. David Ragan
  30. David Reutimann
  31. Travis Kvapil
  32. David Gilliland
  33. Mike Olsen
  34. Stephen Leicht
  35. David Stremme
  36. Casey Mears
  37. Michael McDowell
  38. Scott Speed
  39. Joe Nemechek
  40. Tony Raines
  41. JJ Yeley
  42. Reed Sorenson
  43. Kelly Bires
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.