NASCAR Dover Results 2012: Brad Keselowski Saves Fuel To Win AAA 400

With a masterful job of saving fuel over a closing 79-lap green-flag run, Brad Keselowski regained the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup lead with a strategic win in Sunday's AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway.

Keselowski inherited the race lead when Kyle Busch and Denny Hamlin pitted for fuel from the top two positions late in the race. Keselowski beat hard-charging Jeff Gordon to the finish line by 1.078 seconds to win his series-best fifth race of the season, his second in the Chase, his first at Dover and the ninth of his career.

Mark Martin rallied from a lap down to run third, followed by Jimmie Johnson and Carl Edwards. Johnson, who entered the race with a one-point edge over Keselowski in the Cup standings, left with a five-point deficit to his Dodge rival.

What Johnson couldn't accomplish on the race track, he did on pit road. With a 12.5-second stop for fuel and tires under caution for Matt Kenseth's Lap 308 brush with the Turn 2 wall, Johnson beat Busch, whose stop took a second longer, out of the pits for a restart on Lap 316.

Kenseth's crash in Turn 4 a lap later necessitated the fifth caution of the race, after which Johnson held the top spot from a restart on Lap 322 and kept Busch on his rear bumper until Lap 354. After a discussion about possibly sacrificing track position and saving fuel for the end of the race, Johnson gave way to Busch on the backstretch.

Shortly thereafter, Johnson, in fuel-saving mode, surrendered the second position to Hamlin, and all three of the top cars tried to compensate for shortfalls on fuel. Busch came to the pits for a splash of gas on Lap 390, and Hamlin followed on Lap 391. Busch and Hamlin finished seventh and eighth, respectively.

Here are the full results from today's NASCAR race at Dover International Speedway:

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Jeff Gordon
  3. Mark Martin
  4. Jimmie Johnson
  5. Carl Edwards
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Bobby Labonte
  15. Kasey Kahne
  16. Greg Biffle
  17. Regan Smith
  18. Marcos Ambrose
  19. Aric Almirola
  20. Tony Stewart
  21. Ryan Newman
  22. Paul Menard
  23. Kurt Busch
  24. Jamie McMurray
  25. Sam Hornish Jr.
  26. Juan Pablo Montoya
  27. Jeff Burton
  28. Danica Patrick
  29. Travis Kvapil
  30. David Ragan
  31. Casey Mears
  32. David Gilliland
  33. T.J. Bell
  34. JJ Yeley
  35. Matt Kenseth
  36. Landon Cassill
  37. Josh Wise
  38. Michael McDowell
  39. Joe Nemechek
  40. Scott Speed
  41. Dave Blaney
  42. Scott Riggs
  43. Reed Sorenson
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.