NASCAR Charlotte 2013: Lineup, starting grid for Bank of America 500

Kevin Liles-USA TODAY Sports

If Matt Kenseth is going to hold onto the points lead in the Chase, he'll have to make up some ground after qualifying 20th. Here's a look at the complete starting grid.

Charlotte Motor Speedway will be the center of the NASCAR world on Saturday when the 1.5-mile track hosts the Bank of America 500. Jeff Gordon will start the race in front after he edged out Kevin Harvick for the pole.

Gordon finished third last week and is in fourth place in the Chase standings, 32 points behind Matt Kenseth. Another strong finish on Saturday could draw him closer to contention with five Chase for the Sprint Cup races remaining. His qualifying speed of 194.308 mph was just fast enough to top Harvick, who qualified second with a speed of 194.203 mph. Harvick will begin the race third in the Chase standings.

Jimmie Johnson, who is just three points off the lead in the Chase, qualified fourth. Kenseth didn't have as much success, qualifying 20th with a speed of 191.993 mph. Kenseth has had success on 1.5-mile tracks this season, including four wins, but he'll have some work to do early to join the leaders.

Kyle Busch, who is fifth in the points standings, qualified ninth, one spot ahead of his brother, Kurt. Here is a complete look at the starting grid for Saturday's race. Car number in parentheses.

1. (24) Jeff Gordon

2. (29) Kevin Harvick

3. (16) Greg Biffle

4. (48) Jimmie Johnson

5. (5) Kasey Kahne

6. (88) Dale Earnhardt Jr.

7. (39) Ryan Newman

8. (42) Juan Pablo Montoya

9. (18) Kyle Busch

10. (78) Kurt Busch

11. (43) Aric Almirola

12. (22) Joey Logano

13. (27) Paul Menard

14. (15) Clint Bowyer

15. (99) Carl Edwards

16. (17) Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

17. (56) Martin Truex Jr.

18. (11) Denny Hamlin

19. (33) Brian Scott

20. (20) Matt Kenseth

21. (51) Kyle Larson

22. (14) Mark Martin

23. (2) Brad Keselowski

24. (47) Bobby Labonte

25. (1) Jamie McMurray

26. (31) Jeff Burton

27. (55) Brian Vickers

28. (13) Casey Mears

29. (9) Marcos Ambrose

30. (34) David Ragan

31. (30) Cole Whitt

32. (40) Landon Cassill

33. (35) Josh Wise

34. (38) David Gilliland

35. (10) Danica Patrick

36. (83) David Reutimann

37. (98) Michael McDowell

38. (87) Joe Nemechek

39. (7) Dave Blaney

40. (32) Timmy Hill

41. (93) Travis Kvapil

42. (36) J.J. Yeley

43. (95) Blake Koch

More from SB Nation:

Complete coverage of the 2013 Sprint Cup Chase

"Awesome" lap gives Jeff Gordon Charlotte pole | Full Charlotte coverage

Kvapil's arrest another hit for NASCAR's reputation

Bristol NASCAR track to host college football game

The good times, hard life and shocking death of Dick Trickle

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.