Erik Jones, 17, becomes youngest Truck Series winner

Tom Pennington

Erik Jones holds off Ross Chastain, becomes youngest Truck Series winner.

In a battle between two drivers who had never won a NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race, 17-year-old Erik Jones pulled away from Ross Chastain in the final 10 laps of Friday night's Lucas Oil 150, becoming the youngest winner in series history.

Jones took the lead on Lap 142 of 150, powering to the inside of Chastain through the dogleg on the backstretch. Born May 30, 1986, Jones eclipsed Chase Elliott, a winner earlier this year at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, as the youngest winner in the truck series.

With a fifth-place run, Matt Crafton moved closer to the series championship, ending the evening 46 points ahead of Ty Dillon, who finished fourth. To secure the title, Crafton has to only start Friday's race at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

James Buescher, who entered the race second in points, came home ninth and was eliminated from championship contention. Veteran Brendan Gaughan ran third behind Jones and Chastain.

Jones lost the lead to Chastain during pit stops under caution on Lap 89, the yellow flag necessitated by Ron Hornaday's hard crash into the Turn 4 wall. After his release from the infield care center following the wreck that ended his race, Hornaday revealed that he had been released from his ride in the No. 9 NTS Motorsports truck and will drive for Turner Scott Motorsports in the season finale.

As soon as the green flag waved, however, Jones powered to the outside of Chastain after a restart on Lap 94 and cleared the No. 19 by the time the trucks exited Turn 2.

Jones opened a lead of 3.2 seconds before debris from Joey Coulter's truck caused the fourth caution of the night on Lap 110. Chastain grabbed the lead from the inside lane after the Lap 120 restart moments before John Wes Townley's spin into the outside wall caused the sixth caution.

Chastain retained the top spot until Lap 132, when Timothy Peters' truck got loose beneath that of fellow Toyota driver Darrell Wallace Jr. and sent both trucks spinning.

Lucas Oil 150 finishing order

Finish Start Driver Laps
1 2 Erik Jones 150
2 1 Ross Chastain 150
3 3 Brendan Gaughan 150
4 12 Ty Dillon 150
5 9 Matt Crafton 150
6 6 Cale Gale 150
7 26 Ryan Blaney 150
8 7 Johnny Sauter 150
9 4 James Buescher 150
10 16 Chase Elliott 150
11 24 Jeb Burton 150
12 11 German Quiroga 150
13 14 Daniel Hemric 150
14 23 Steve Wallace 150
15 5 Max Gresham 150
16 18 Timothy Peters 150
17 8 Ryan Sieg 150
18 22 Brennan Newberry 150
19 25 Dakoda Armstrong 150
20 13 Darrell Wallace Jr. 150
21 19 John H. Nemechek 149
22 27 Mason Mingus 149
23 28 David Starr 146
24 33 Norm Benning 144
25 32 Jennifer Jo Cobb 137
26 10 Joey Coulter 134
27 15 John Wes Townley 119
28 21 Ron Hornaday Jr. 85
29 36 Chad Frewaldt 66
30 35 Steve Smith 65
31 17 Miguel Paludo 34
32 30 Chris Jones 14
33 31 Bryan Silas 10
34 34 Mike Harmon 3
35 29 JJ Yeley 2
36 20 DJ Kennington 1

More from SB Nation:

Complete coverage of the 2013 Sprint Cup Chase

Johnson takes points lead with dominant victory

Another runner-up finish for Dale, Jr.

NASCAR power rankings: Kenseth surges past Johnson

The good times, hard life and shocking death of Dick Trickle

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.