NASCAR Bristol 2013 qualifying results: Kyle Busch wins pole with new track record

Drew Hallowell

Setting a new track record in qualifying, Kyle Busch won the pole for Sunday's NASCAR race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

With a record-breaking lap in excess of 128 mph around the half-mile Bristol Motor Speedway oval, Kyle Busch sped to the pole-position for Sunday's Food City 500.

Busch's lap of 14.813 seconds broke the previous track record held by Ryan Newman and gave him his first pole of 2013. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver will share the front row with Kasey Kahne, who broke a Toyota stranglehold of the top three spots when he went out late in qualifying.

While Busch has won five Cup races at Bristol, Friday marked just the third time in 17 races that he had qualified inside the top 10. His previous best starting position was ninth in the 2008 August event.

"I've won plenty of races starting from deep in the field," Busch said. "It will feel a little bit different leading the field to green this time around."

Denny Hamlin, Brian Vickers and Paul Menard round out the top five, with Jamie McMurray, Brad Keselowski, Tony Stewart, Martin Truex Jr. and Joey Logano positions six-10 on the grid.

Sunday will mark Vickers first Sprint Cup Series start of the season, as he is driving a limited schedule for Michael Waltrip Racing. In this race last year, Vickers led 125 laps before sliding back to finish fifth.

Both Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Danica Patrick struggled during their two qualifying laps. Earnhardt Jr. turned in the 32nd-fastest time with Patrick 41st out of 44 cars.

Scott Riggs was the only driver who did not qualify.

Complete Food City 500 starting lineup:

1) Kyle Busch

2) Kasey Kahne

3) Denny Hamlin

4) Brian Vickers

5) Paul Menard

6) Jamie McMurray

7) Brad Keselowski

8) Tony Stewart

9) Martin Truex Jr.

10) Joey Logano

11) Jeff Gordon

12) Matt Kenseth

13) Jimmie Johnson

14) David Gilliland

15) Casey Mears

16) Jeff Burton

17) Juan Pablo Montoya

18) Kevin Harvick

19) Kurt Busch

20) Aric Almirola

21) Carl Edwards

22) Marcos Ambrose

23) Clint Bowyer

24) Greg Biffle

25) David Reutimann

26) David Stremme

27) Scott Speed

28) Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

29) AJ Allmendinger

30) David Ragan

31) Ryan Newman

32) Dale Earnhardt Jr.

33) Dave Blaney

34) Michael McDowell

35) JJ Yeley

36) Mike Bliss

37) Travis Kvapil

38) Joe Nemechek

39) Bobby Labonte

40) Josh Wise

41) Danica Patrick

42) Landon Cassill

43) Terry Labonte

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.