NASCAR Nationwide Series at Indianapolis Motor Speedway lineup: Kyle Busch takes the pole

Chris Graythen

The field for the Indiana 250 is set and Kyle Busch will once again be on the pole.

Kyle Busch will be on the pole for a record 31st time in his Nationwide career this weekend. Busch set a track record, too, on his way to earning the pole for the Indiana 250 on Saturday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Busch finished with an average speed of 179.644 mph, breaking Kasey Kahne's track record of 176.284. Busch also set the NASCAR Nationwide Series record for most pole positions. He will be joined on the front row by Sam Hornish Jr. who qualified second with an average speed of 178.969 mph.

Trevor Bayne and Elliot Sadler will start on the second row while Parker Kligerman and Brian Vickers will start in the fifth and sixth positions, respectively. Fourteen total drivers qualified with an average speed faster than 177 mph.

The Indiana 250 is scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m. ET.

The complete lineup, via the Associated Press, is listed below.

1. (54) Kyle Busch, Toyota, 179.644 mph.

2. (12) Sam Hornish Jr., Ford, 178.969.

3. (6) Trevor Bayne, Ford, 178.37.

4. (11) Elliott Sadler, Toyota, 177.999.

5. (77) Parker Kligerman, Toyota, 177.943.

6. (20) Brian Vickers, Toyota, 177.788.

7. (3) Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 177.75.

8. (30) Nelson Piquet Jr., Chevrolet, 177.701.

9. (18) Matt Kenseth, Toyota, 177.637.

10. (33) Paul Menard, Chevrolet, 177.56.

11. (2) Brian Scott, Chevrolet, 177.518.

12. (5) Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, 177.452.

13. (22) Joey Logano, Ford, 177.427.

14. (31) Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, 177.012.

15. (21) Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 176.678.

16. (7) Regan Smith, Chevrolet, 176.439.

17. (32) Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, 176.353.

18. (98) Kevin Swindell, Ford, 176.108.

19. (43) Michael Annett, Ford, 175.967.

20. (55) David Starr, Chevrolet, 174.645.

21. (19) Mike Bliss, Toyota, 174.622.

22. (44) Cole Whitt, Toyota, 174.523.

23. (79) Kyle Fowler, Ford, 173.789.

24. (87) Joe Nemechek, Toyota, 173.584.

25. (39) Ryan Sieg, Chevrolet, 173.374.

26. (70) Johanna Long, Chevrolet, 172.361.

27. (17) Tanner Berryhill, Toyota, 172.354.

28. (40) Reed Sorenson, Chevrolet, 172.206.

29. (4) Landon Cassill, Chevrolet, 172.025.

30. (01) Mike Wallace, Chevrolet, 171.926.

31. (51) Jeremy Clements, Chevrolet, 171.311.

32. (42) Josh Wise, Chevrolet, 170.522.

33. (10) Jeff Green, Toyota, 170.074.

34. (46) J.J. Yeley, Chevrolet, 170.074.

35. (24) Ken Butler, Toyota, 169.539.

36. (14) Eric McClure, Toyota, 169.437.

37. (23) Robert Richardson Jr., Chevrolet, 166.88.

38. (99) Alex Bowman, Toyota, owner points.

39. (60) Travis Pastrana, Ford, owner points.

40. (00) David Green, Toyota, past champion.

More from SB Nation:

LBJ likely done with Team USA | Best (and worst) Olympic moments

The top 61 rookies at NBA Summer League

•SB Nation’s media days coverage, live from the scene: ACC | Big 12 | Big Ten | SEC

Phil credits technology for Open win

Kenny Anderson reveals being sexually abused

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.