2013 NASCAR standings: Victory keeps Matt Kenseth atop of standings

Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

Matt Kenseth leaves Chicagoland Speedway just as he entered: atop the Sprint Cup Series standings following a win Sunday night.

Matt Kenseth and Kyle Busch hold the top two positions in the Sprint Cup Series standings, the same spots they finished in NASCAR's first Chase for the Sprint Cup race. Following his sixth victory of the year, Kenseth has an eight-point edge over his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate.

Busch is just three points ahead of third-place Jimmie Johnson, who finished fifth in the rain-delayed Geico 400. A third-place run by Kevin Harvick moved him to fourth overall, while Carl Edwards, the regular season points leader, rounds out the top five after his up-and-down night earned an 11th-place finish.

Positions six through 10 are occupied by Kurt Busch (finished fourth), Jeff Gordon (sixth), Ryan Newman (10th), Clint Bowyer (ninth) and Kasey Kahne (12th).

The championship hopes of Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Joey Logano took a significant hit Sunday when each suffered a motor failure. Earnhardt's blown engine resulted in substantial fire underneath his car and he finished 35th. Logano, who led the opening 32 laps, placed 37th.

Consequently, Logano and Earnhardt sit in the bottom two positions of the Chase standings. Logano is ranked 12th, 52 points out of the lead. Earnhardt is 13th, 53 points in arrears of Kenseth.

"It's going to be really hard to win a championship this far behind," Earnhardt said. "We have some pretty tough competition in the Chase. The average finish is going to be inside the top 10 to win the championship. So you can do the numbers, you can do the math."

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Standings

Place Driver Points Behind Wins
1 Matt Kenseth 2063 --- 6
2 Kyle Busch 2055 -8 4
3 Jimmie Johnson 2052 -11 4
4 Kevin Harvick 2048 -15 2
5 Carl Edwards 2040 -23 2
6 Kurt Busch 2040 -23 0
7 Jeff Gordon 2039 -24 0
8 Ryan Newman 2035 -28 1
9 Clint Bowyer 2035 -28 0
10 Kasey Kahne 2032 -31 2
11 Greg Biffle 2032 -31 1
12 Joey Logano 2011 -52 1
13 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2010 -53 0
14 Brad Keselowski 758 -1305 0
15 Jamie McMurray 747 -1316 0
16 Paul Menard 720 -1343 0
17 Martin Truex Jr. 717 -1346 1
18 Aric Almirola 696 -1367 0
19 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 680 -1383 0
20 Juan Pablo Montoya 668 -1395 0

More from SB Nation:

Complete coverage of the 2013 Sprint Cup Chase

Chasers endure night of adversity at Chicagoland

Victory keeps Matt Kenseth atop point standings | Full results

Jeff Gordon fights back to finish sixth

Mark Martin: Rule change won't stop "monkey business"

Longform: The good times and hard life of Dick Trickle

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.