NASCAR Dover 2013: Lineup, starting grid for AAA 400

Jared C. Tilton

Dale Earnhardt Jr. holds the pole position for the AAA 400 on Sunday. We've got the full lineup.

The AAA 400 is set for Sunday at Dover International Speedway in Dover, Del. It's race No. 29 of 36 for the 2013 Sprint Cup season, and the third race of the Chase. Dale Earnhardt Jr. holds the pole position for the race, taking his No. 88 Chevrolet around the track in 22.243 seconds (161.849 mph), with Matt Kenseth coming up just .006 seconds slower at 161.805 mph.

Ryan Newman (161.740 mph) and Carl Edwards (161.609) filled out the second row. Kenseth has already had two dominant victories in the Chase, putting him in front Jimmie Johnson and Kyle Busch. Johnson is in third, trailing Kenseth by a mere 18 points. In fourth is Edwards, who is 36 points behind Kenseth, which accounts for almost a full race of points.

Johnson qualified eighth, while Busch was just behind him in ninth. Those are the top contenders for this race and the Chase in general. The race is set for 2 p.m. ET on ESPN. Below, we've got the full lineup for the race.

AAA 400 Starting Lineup

1)         Dale Earnhardt Jr.

2)         Matt Kenseth

3)         Ryan Newman

4)         Carl Edwards

5)         Aric Almirola

6)         Brad Keselowski

7)         Jamie McMurray

8)         Jimmie Johnson

9)         Kurt Busch

10)       Martin Truex Jr.

11)       Joey Logano

12)       Kevin Harvick

13)       Juan Pablo Montoya

14)       Kyle Busch

15)       Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

16)       Jeff Gordon

17)       A.J. Allmendinger

18)       Denny Hamlin

19)       Greg Biffle

20)       Kasey Kahne

21)       Paul Menard

22)       Brian Vickers

23)       Clint Bowyer

24)       Marcos Ambrose

25)       Jeff Burton

26)       Casey Mears

27)       David Ragan

28)       David Gilliland

29)       Mark Martin

30)       Travis Kvapil

31)       Danica Patrick

32)       J.J. Yeley

33)       Cole Whitt

34)       Michael McDowell

35)       Reed Sorenson

36)       Ryan Truex

37)       Landon Cassill

38)       Josh Wise

39)       David Reutimann

40)       Dave Blaney

41)       Joey Nemechek

42)       Timmy Hill

43)       Tony Raines

More from SB Nation:

Complete coverage of the 2013 Sprint Cup Chase

"Rush" more than just a motorsports film

Ryan Blaney happy at Penske, future plans unknown

NASCAR power rankings: Kenseth, Busch, Johnson -- then everyone else

Kenseth wins Loudon, extends Sprint Cup lead

Longform: The good times and hard life of Dick Trickle

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.