NASCAR Super Late Model Champion to be decided during World Series of Asphalt

Jonathan Ferrey

Kyle Benjamin, Steve Wallace and Harrison Burton highlight the list of entries for the World Series of Asphalt at New Smyrna Speedway.

The first NASCAR championship of the season will be contested and decided over seven races and nine nights at New Smyrna Speedway for the World Series of Asphalt in New Smyrna Beach, Fla.

The half-mile speedway is located just a short drive south from Daytona International Speedway and has long been a popular venue for racing aficionados and stock car prospects to test their meddle in advance of The Great American Race.

The first six Super Late Model races at the speedway will be 35-laps and featured on the undercard for six of the first seven days all leading up to the 100-lap Bruce Gowland Memorial, which will serve as the main event and championship finale.

Several of the top Super Late Model drivers in the country including Kyle Benjamin, Stephen Nasse, Steve Wallace, Bubba Pollard and Spencer Davis are expected to compete in at least one of the races and several will compete for the championship.

One of those drivers is Benjamin, the 2012 Super Late Model World Series champion.

He also contended for the crown in 2013 and won numerous races in a follow-up effort. An early-week disqualification for a weight infraction cost him the championship for a second consecutive season but he will be back in February to chase a second championship in three seasons.

"New Smyrna has always been a good track for me," Benjamin told SB Nation on Friday. "I hope we can carry on the success we've had there the past two years. It's definitely a track I look forward to racing at."

Ryan Moore became the 12th different champion in 12 years last season, scoring the championship by four points over 1994 NASCAR National Champion David Rogers. Could a 13th different champion be crowned this season? Dawsonville, Ga.-native Davis would like to be that driver.

"We've got four years of experience there now," Davis told SB Nation on Sunday at Watermelon Capital Speedway. "Between Pros and Supers -- plus the trucks -- I've pretty much learned that track. Now it's up to me to go get it done.

"We're running a Modified up there too and hoping to win championships in that divisions so I'm pretty excited for Speedweeks."

Ross Kenseth will also make his debut for new team Boyne Machine Racing during the event.

The 48th Annual World Series of Asphalt will run from Friday, February 14 to Saturday, February 22. Speed 51 will provide live coverage and radio for the event while the author will provide analysis and commentary on Twitter.

The Super Late Model entry list as of February 1 has been provided below. Entry lists for the remaining divisions can be found on the speedway's website. The Ranting and Raving Blog has continuing short track coverage on our front page.

  • Ross Kenseth
  • Kyle Benjamin
  • Steve Wallace
  • Harrison Burton
  • David Rogers
  • Anthony Cataldi
  • Natalie Decker
  • Brandon Watson
  • Frank Alberson
  • Gary Passer
  • Joey Miller
  • Bill Catania
  • Anthony Sergi
  • Nick Panitzke
  • Chris Koslek
  • Cameron Hayley
  • Anderson Bowen
  • Dwayne Baker
  • Gus Dean
  • Ryan Moore
  • Nathan Russell
  • Matt Tift
  • Anthony Campi
  • David Russell
  • Mike Maresca
  • Spencer Davis

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.