Daytona 500 purse 2014: Dale Earnhardt Jr. earns over $1.5 million with victory

Tom Pennington

Earnhardt's second Daytona 500 victory earned him a hefty payday in a record-setting purse.

After a six-plus hour rain delay, Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the 2014 Daytona 500, taking home $1,506,363 in the process. The win was Earnhardt's second Daytona victory, coming 10 years after his first.

Earnhardt crossed the finish line with cars crashing behind him, and there were several other wrecks during the latter part of the race that had to be dealt with. A wreck in lap 194 forced a late reset of the race with just a handful of laps remaining.

Rounding out the top five behind Earnhardt were Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson. For his second-place finish, Hamlin earned $1,148,451. Keselowski pocketed $847,721 for finishing in third.

The total purse for the 2014 running of The Great American Race was $19,784,864, a new record. Here's the full list of payouts.

1. Dale Earnhardt Jr. $1,506,363

2. Denny Hamlin $1,148,451

3. Brad Keselowski $847,721

4. Jeff Gordon $731,399

5. Jimmie Johnson $589,399

6. Matt Kenseth $518,362

7. Ricky Stenhouse. Jr. $434,588

8. Greg Biffle $413,838

9. Austin Dillon $424,674

10. Casey Mears $377,221

11. Joey Logano $376,354

12. Landon Cassill $306,850

13. Kevin Harvick $368,196

14. Jamie McMurray $361,777

15. Bobby Labonte $325,213

16. Reed Sorenson $342,446

17. Carl Edwards $340,638

18. Marcos Ambrose $363,458

19. Kyle Busch $373,504

20. Terry Labonte $339,996

21. Kurt Busch $331,763

22. Ryan Newman $331,638

23. Alex Bowman $334,346

24. Josh Wise $322,888

25. Brian Scott $336,035

26. AJ Allmendinger $321,788

27. Justin Allgaier $327,513

28. Cole Whitt $315,663

29. Parker Kligerman $318,338

30. Brian Vickers $350,388

31. Kasey Kahne $350,413

32. Paul Menard $550,702

33. Trevor Bayne $316,438

34. David Ragan $323,738

35. Tony Stewart $349,521

36. David Gilliland $322,968

37. Michael Annett $313,605

38. Kyle Larson $310,248

39. Aric Almirola $317,939

40. Danica Patrick $282,778

41. Michael Waltrip $278,628

42. Clint Bowyer $302,344

43. Martin Truex Jr. $292,311

More from

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.