NASCAR Kansas 2014 results: Jeff Gordon fends off charging Kevin Harvick

Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

Jeff Gordon gets third Kansas win – and first win of 2014 season.

Jeff Gordon held off Kevin Harvick over the final laps and went on to win the 5-Hour Energy 400 Sprint

Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway on Saturday night.

The victory was the first of the year for the four-time champion and his third at Kansas Speedway.

The win was his first since Martinsville last fall and it earned him a place in the record book as the first winner of a

night race at the track.

Harvick finished second after leading the most laps in the race.

Kasey Kahne, Gordon's teammate at Hendrick Motorsports, finished third while Joey Logano was fourth. Fifth was a third

Hendrick driver, Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Rounding out the top 10 were Carl Edwards, Danica Patrick, Aric Almirola, Jimmie Johnson and Matt Kenseth.

Patrick had by far her most impressive effort on a non-restrictor plate track. She started ninth, hung tough for the first half of the

race and then began moving forward. On Lap 162, she blew past both Tony Stewart and Earnhardt and moved to third place.

A slow pit stop during a caution that occurred on Lap 177 knocked her back to seventh but again, she hung tough to earn her

best NASCAR Sprint Cup finish.

Harvick broke clean from his pole position on the start and began to move out. By Lap 15 of the 267-lap event, he had a two-

plus second lead. Behind him, the field was well spread out. By Lap 33, the lead was three seconds.

He would lead 89 laps in dominating fashion during the first half of the race.

However, the night went bad for Harvick when a spin by Marcos Ambrose on Lap 110 produced a caution. Harvick had pitted as

the leader six laps earlier while most of the rest of the field did not. That put him a lap off the pace. He did get the free

pass but when the race went green, was outside of the top 15.

Harvick was not done, however. He slowly worked his way back forward and on a restart on Lap 195, climbed to third place. On

a restart on Lap 207, he restarted second, below leader Joey Logano, and moved back to the lead between Turns 3 and 4.

He lost the lead to Gordon during green flag pit stops 40 laps from the end and could never get back to the lead.

The first night race at Kansas dashed some hopes for two "favorite sons."

Hopes for a victory by a hometown hero took a series shot on Lap 47 when Kansas native Clint Bowyer of Michael Waltrip Racing

snapped around on the backstretch. He kept his Toyota off the wall and clean. He dropped a lap off the pace, however.

Hopes for a victory on what he considers his home track went up in smoke for Springfield, Mo.'s Jamie McMurray

after his car blew a tire, broke an oil line and burst into flames early in the race.

The start of the race was pushed back not by rain, but by lightning. It was not until after the cars had moved out onto the

track for the parade laps that rain began to fall. But that was very light, quickly evaporated on the warm asphalt and the

5-Hour Energy 400 finishing order
Position Start Driver Make Laps Status
1 13 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet 267 Running
2 1 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 267 Running
3 17 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 267 Running
4 2 Joey Logano Ford 267 Running
5 22 Dale Earnhardt, Jr. Chevrolet 267 Running
6 4 Carl Edwards Ford 267 Running
7 9 Danica Patrick Chevrolet 267 Running
8 12 Aric Almirola Ford 267 Running
9 14 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 267 Running
10 28 Matt Kenseth Toyota 267 Running
11 7 Ryan Newman Chevrolet 267 Running
12 5 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 267 Running
13 3 Brad Keselowski Ford 267 Running
14 15 Brian Vickers Toyota 267 Running
15 24 Kyle Busch Toyota 267 Running
16 10 Greg Biffle Ford 267 Running
17 16 Paul Menard Chevrolet 266 Running
18 30 Denny Hamlin Toyota 266 Running
19 19 Austin Dillon Chevrolet 266 Running
20 8 Tony Stewart Chevrolet 266 Running
21 26 Martin Truex, Jr. Chevrolet 266 Running
22 20 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Ford 265 Running
23 23 Clint Bowyer Toyota 264 Running
24 25 Marcos Ambrose Ford 264 Running
25 34 Michael Annett Chevrolet 264 Running
26 27 Casey Mears Chevrolet 264 Running
27 21 Ryan Blaney Ford 263 Running
28 36 Cole Whitt Toyota 263 Running
29 6 Kurt Busch Chevrolet 263 Running
30 29 A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet 262 Running
31 43 Joe Nemechek Toyota 262 Running
32 37 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet 261 Running
33 32 Josh Wise Ford 261 Running
34 41 Travis Kvapil Ford 258 Running
35 33 Alex Bowman Toyota 257 Running
36 18 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet 186 Accident
37 39 David Gilliland Ford 184 Accident
38 38 David Ragan Ford 171 Running
39 11 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 149 Accident
40 42 Timmy Hill Chevrolet 137 Engine
41 35 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet 136 Engine
42 40 Landon Cassill Chevrolet 63 Accident
43 31 Ryan Truex Toyota 57 Accident

More from

SB Nation Featured Video
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.