NASCAR Kansas 2014 qualifying results: Kevin Harvick speeds to Kansas pole

Jamie Squire

Led by Kevin Harvick, Stewart-Haas Racing paces Sprint Cup qualifying at Kansas Speedway.

There was no doubt Kevin Harvick had the fastest car, the only uncertainty was whether he had enough time to claim the pole-position in Sprint Cup qualifying Friday at Kansas Speedway.

Fastest in the initial two rounds, Harvick was the quickest qualifier in Round 3 before Team Penske teammates Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski unseated him with just a couple of minutes remaining. But with less than 60-seconds on the clock, Harvick laid down a lap (194.252) to reestablish himself atop the scoring sheet and win the pole for Saturday's 5-Hour Energy 500.

NASCAR Power Rankings

Kansas was Harvick's eighth pole in 477 races, and just the second time he's won multiple poles in a season. He won from the No. 1 starting position last month at Darlington Raceway.

Kyle Larson and Carl Edwards completed the top five qualifiers.

"My qualifying record hasn't been great," Harvick said. "But the team has really done a good job at getting our qualifying stuff situated after the first four or five weeks to the season to come here and sit on the pole.

"I thought I had screwed it up. I never got through (Turns) 3 and 4 like (Turns) 1 and 2 ... but all in all it worked out okay."

Harvick's second pole of 2014 capped an impressive afternoon for Stewart-Haas Racing, which saw all four drivers advance to the final round. Kurt Busch qualified sixth, Tony Stewart eighth and Danica Patrick ninth.

Qualifying was not equally as kind to Joe Gibbs Racing, as Kyle Busch (qualified 24th), Matt Kenseth (28th) and Denny Hamlin (30th) all struggled to find speed around the 1.5-mile oval.

Driving a third Penske entry, Ryan Blaney successfully qualified for his first Sprint Cup race. Meanwhile, father Dave Blaney was the only driver who failed to qualify.

"It feels good to make it," Ryan Blaney said. "It is a shame my dad couldn't make it. It sucks. I really did want to race out there with him. It would have been really cool but hopefully we will get another chance."

5-Hour Energy 400 starting lineup
Position Driver Make
1 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet
2 Joey Logano Ford
3 Brad Keselowski Ford
4 Carl Edwards Ford
5 Kyle Larson Chevrolet
6 Kurt Busch Chevrolet
7 Ryan Newman Chevrolet
8 Tony Stewart Chevrolet
9 Danica Patrick Chevrolet
10 Greg Biffle Ford
11 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet
12 Aric Almirola Ford
13 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet
14 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet
15 Brian Vickers Toyota
16 Paul Menard Chevrolet
17 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet
18 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet
19 Austin Dillon Chevrolet
20 Ricky Stenhouse Jr Ford
21 Ryan Blaney Ford
22 Dale Earnhardt Jr Chevrolet
23 Clint Bowyer Toyota
24 Kyle Busch Toyota
25 Marcos Ambrose Ford
26 Martin Truex Jr Chevrolet
27 Casey Mears Chevrolet
28 Matt Kenseth Toyota
29 AJ Allmendinger Chevrolet
30 Denny Hamlin Toyota
31 Ryan Truex Toyota
32 Josh Wise Chevrolet
33 Alex Bowman Toyota
34 Michael Annett Chevrolet
35 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet
36 Cole Whitt Toyota
37 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet
38 David Ragan Ford
39 David Gilliland Ford
40 Landon Cassill Chevrolet
41 Travis Kvapil Ford
42 Timmy Hill Chevrolet
43 Joe Nemechek Toyota

More from

SB Nation Featured Video
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.