Tom Thibodeau Named NBA Coach Of The Year; Doug Collins Finishes Second

  • Live
10 Total Updates since April 18, 2011
  • Important 3
  • Updates 9
  • Articles 1
  • All Updates 10

Tom Thibodeau To Be Named NBA Coach Of The Year, According To Report

Tom Thibodeau of the Chicago Bulls will be named the 2011 NBA Coach of the Year during a Sunday afternoon news conference, reports K.C. Johnson of the Chicago Tribune. The Bulls and NBA have announced a major award presentation for 4:30 p.m. ET at the Berto Center in Chicago. Early reports suggested either Thibodeau or Derrick Rose could be the honoree, but Rose's assumed MVP presentation will have to wait.

Thibodeau led the Bulls to a 62-20 record in his first season as a head coach at the NBA level, a 21-game improvement over last season. Thibodeau currently has the best winning percentage of any coach in NBA history at .756, better than Phil Jackson's previous record of .704.

The Thibodeau announcement should come at halftime of Game 1 of the Miami Heat vs. Boston Celtics series on Sunday. The Bulls tip off their second-round series against the Atlanta Hawks on Monday.


Kevin Love Likely To Receive Most Improved Player Award Thursday

Kevin Love will be announced as the winner of the 2010-11 NBA Most Improved Player award on Thursday, as the Minnesota Timberwolves have, according to SB Nation Minnesota, scheduled a 3 p.m. ET press conference for a major award announcement and Kurt Rambis' Coach of the Year hopes are very slim. Love won the NBA's rebounding title, ending Dwight Howard's three-season streak. He also boosted his per-minute and per-game scoring and, by a great margin, his shooting percentage.

While votes won't be released until the award is made official, Derrick Rose -- the presumptive MVP -- is expected to receive some consideration; Most Improved is the most contentious award largely because different voters and pundits put different limits on who should be considered. Some, for example, argued that since Love was drafted with the No. 5 pick in 2007 he ought not be eligible for MIP. Others argue that Rose is "too good" for MIP consideration.

The Most Improved Player award debuted in 1986; no Timberwolf has ever claimed it. Love would join Danny Granger (2009) and Jermaine O'Neal (2002) as the only players to win Most Improve and be named an NBA All-Star in the same season over the past 10 years.

For more on Love's award win, visit Canis Hoopus.


Lakers' Lamar Odom To Be Named NBA Sixth Man Of The Year

Lamar Odom will be named the 2010-11 NBA Sixth Man of the Year Tuesday in Los Angeles, the Los Angeles Times reports. Odom came off the bench in 47 of his 82 games for the Los Angeles Lakers this season, his third as the third big man in Phil Jackson's rotation behind Andrew Bynum and Pau Gasol. Given regular injuries to Bynum, Odom has been forced into the starting lineup at time. But he's been brilliant off the bench, averaging 13 points and 7.5 rebounds in 28.5 minutes.

Voting results are yet to be released, but Jason Terry, Glen Davis and George Hill are expected to follow Odom in the voting. The Sixth Man award almost always goes to a great bench scorer; Odom has the lowest total points per game average (bench and starting) for a winner since Mike Miller in 2006. Each of the last four winners -- Jamal Crawford, Terry, Manu Ginobili and Leandro Barbosa, in reverse chronological order -- topped 18 points per game. Odom is the first Sixth Man of the Year to top eight rebounds per game since Anthony Mason in 1995.

No Laker had ever before won the Sixth Man award, which began in 1983. Odom finished sixth in voting in 2010, earning one of 120 first-place votes. Crawford won in a landslide.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.