Rajon Rondo finally spoke to reporters about his ejection from the Boston Celtics' 83-74 Game 1 loss to the Atlanta Hawks on Sunday night. Rondo, who was thrown out for bumping official Mark Davis in the final minute, claimed that he did not hit him intentionally.
Rajon Rondo: "I didn't intentionally chest bump him. I know the rules." #Celtics— SB Nation Boston (@sbnationboston) April 30, 2012
Rondo argued that his momentum from being tripped carried him into Davis and caused the bump. When asked about the possibility of being suspended, he said that's out of his hands and up to the league. Looking at the video, it appears that Rondo did trip, but he also pretty clearly stuck his chest out in a manner that goes beyond losing momentum.
Game 2 is scheduled for Tuesday at 7:30 p.m.