2013 Golden State Warriors schedule: New rivalries against Western Conference foes

Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

The Golden State Warriors made themselves a basketball power last season. Because of that, they have budding rivalries across the league.

Despite finding significant success in the postseason in 2012-13, the Golden State Warriors didn't act satisfied. The team filled holes vacated by free agents who signed elsewhere and brought in All-Star swingman Andre Iguodala without losing any of its young stars.

Iguodala's addition should make the 2013-14 season more intriguing than last year. Additionally, there are new rivalries on the Warriors' schedule thanks to two entertaining playoff series with the Denver Nuggets and San Antonio Spurs.

Five games to watch

Dec. 11 vs. Mavericks -- Golden State fans endured Monta Ball for a long time, but for the most part suffered through all the negatives of Monta Ellis' style of play when he was a part of the Warriors. After a similarly frustrating stop in Milwaukee, Ellis and his new-look Dallas Mavericks team visit Golden State looking to prove that the scoring guard can win his way.

Dec. 13 vs. Rockets -- Houston won out on the Dwight Howard sweepstakes, but Warriors owner Joe Lacob told Sporting News that his team wasn't far away from acquiring the free agent center this summer. Instead, Golden State dealt for Iguodala and still likes its chances with a healthy Andrew Bogut at center. It's hard to say which situation would have been better for Howard, but it's fun to think about.

Dec. 23 at Denver -- Iguodala returns to the Pepsi Center for the first time after helping the Nuggets to their most successful regular season ever last year. Front office turnover and a coaching change likely didn't help the Nuggets' shot at re-signing the veteran swingman, so there could be some bad blood brewing. Additionally, the two teams had one of the more edgy playoff series last season, leading Warriors coach Mark Jackson to call out the Nuggets for playing dirty. No matter the roster and coaching changes, the animosity is probably still there.

Feb. 28 at New York -- Stephen Curry went for 54 points last year in Madison Square Garden. His return to the most historic basketball arena in the NBA should be another show. It's enough for ESPN to have picked up the game, anyway.

April 2 at San Antonio -- While Golden State will meet San Antonio at other junctures in the season, there's a good bet that April 2 will be late enough for playoff seeding to be of utmost importance -- but not so late that Gregg Popovich will be resting his starters for the postseason. The Spurs knocked Golden State out of the playoffs in the conference semifinals last season, so redemption will be on the Warriors' minds.

Tough tests

Golden State goes on a seven-game road trip from Dec. 29 through Jan. 8 with games against Cleveland, Orlando, Miami, Atlanta, Washington, Milwaukee and Brooklyn. The Warriors also have a six-game road trip bridging February and March. They play at Detroit, Chicago, New York, Toronto, Indiana and Boston during that trip.

Easiest stretches

Though the Warriors don't have any stretches that include a lot of easy games, they only have 15 back-to-backs.

Golden State's easiest stretch might be from March 7 through March 30, when it has nine of 11 games at Oracle Arena. Though the stretch includes games against the Clippers and ends against San Antonio, Memphis and New York, it has winnable games against Atlanta, Phoenix, Orlando, Milwaukee and Cleveland in between.

Important schedule facts

Back-to-backs: 15

Season opener: Oct. 30 vs. Lakers at home

Longest road trip: Seven games (Dec. 29 - Jan. 8)

Longest homestand: Five games (Jan. 20-30, March 18-30)

Sleeved jersey schedule: Golden State will wear its short-sleeve jerseys on the following dates.

  • Nov. 2, 2013 vs. Kings
  • Nov. 16, 2013 vs. Jazz
  • Nov. 23, 2013 vs. Trail Blazers
  • Dec. 21, 2013 vs. Lakers
  • Feb. 22, 2014 vs. Nets
  • March 22, 2014 vs. Spurs

2013-14 Schedule

OCTOBER
Los Angeles Lakers Wednesday, October 30 2013 10:30 PM EDT coverage
@ Los Angeles Clippers Thursday, October 31 2013 10:30 PM EDT coverage
NOVEMBER
Sacramento Saturday, November 02 2013 10:30 PM EDT coverage
@ Philadelphia Monday, November 04 2013 7:00 PM EST coverage
@ Minnesota Wednesday, November 06 2013 8:00 PM EST coverage
@ San Antonio Friday, November 08 2013 8:30 PM EST coverage
@ Memphis Saturday, November 09 2013 8:00 PM EST coverage
Detroit Tuesday, November 12 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
Oklahoma City Thursday, November 14 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
Utah Saturday, November 16 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Utah Monday, November 18 2013 9:00 PM EST coverage
Memphis Wednesday, November 20 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Los Angeles Lakers Friday, November 22 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
Portland Saturday, November 23 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ New Orleans Tuesday, November 26 2013 8:00 PM EST coverage
@ Dallas Wednesday, November 27 2013 8:30 PM EST coverage
@ Oklahoma City Friday, November 29 2013 8:00 PM EST coverage
DECEMBER
@ Sacramento Sunday, December 01 2013 6:00 PM EST coverage
Toronto Tuesday, December 03 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Houston Friday, December 06 2013 8:00 PM EST coverage
@ Memphis Saturday, December 07 2013 8:00 PM EST coverage
@ Charlotte Monday, December 09 2013 7:00 PM EST coverage
Dallas Wednesday, December 11 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
Houston Friday, December 13 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Phoenix Sunday, December 15 2013 8:00 PM EST coverage
New Orleans Tuesday, December 17 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
San Antonio Thursday, December 19 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
Los Angeles Lakers Saturday, December 21 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Denver Monday, December 23 2013 9:00 PM EST coverage
Los Angeles Clippers Wednesday, December 25 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
Phoenix Friday, December 27 2013 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Cleveland Sunday, December 29 2013 6:00 PM EST coverage
@ Orlando Tuesday, December 31 2013 5:00 PM EST coverage
JANUARY
@ Miami Thursday, January 02 2014 7:30 PM EST coverage
@ Atlanta Friday, January 03 2014 7:30 PM EST coverage
@ Washington Sunday, January 05 2014 6:00 PM EST coverage
@ Milwaukee Tuesday, January 07 2014 8:00 PM EST coverage
@ Brooklyn Wednesday, January 08 2014 7:30 PM EST coverage
Boston Friday, January 10 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
Denver Wednesday, January 15 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Oklahoma City Friday, January 17 2014 9:30 PM EST coverage
@ New Orleans Saturday, January 18 2014 8:00 PM EST coverage
Indiana Monday, January 20 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
Minnesota Friday, January 24 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
Portland Sunday, January 26 2014 9:00 PM EST coverage
Washington Tuesday, January 28 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
Los Angeles Clippers Thursday, January 30 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Utah Friday, January 31 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
FEBRUARY
Charlotte Tuesday, February 04 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
Chicago Thursday, February 06 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Phoenix Saturday, February 08 2014 9:00 PM EST coverage
Philadelphia Monday, February 10 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
Miami Wednesday, February 12 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Sacramento Wednesday, February 19 2014 10:00 PM EST coverage
Houston Thursday, February 20 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
Brooklyn Saturday, February 22 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
@ Detroit Monday, February 24 2014 7:30 PM EST coverage
@ Chicago Wednesday, February 26 2014 8:00 PM EST coverage
@ New York Friday, February 28 2014 8:00 PM EST coverage
MARCH
@ Toronto Sunday, March 02 2014 4:00 PM EST coverage
@ Indiana Tuesday, March 04 2014 7:00 PM EST coverage
@ Boston Wednesday, March 05 2014 7:30 PM EST coverage
Atlanta Friday, March 07 2014 10:30 PM EST coverage
Phoenix Sunday, March 09 2014 9:00 PM EDT coverage
Dallas Tuesday, March 11 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
@ Los Angeles Clippers Wednesday, March 12 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
Cleveland Friday, March 14 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
@ Portland Sunday, March 16 2014 9:00 PM EDT coverage
Orlando Tuesday, March 18 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
Milwaukee Thursday, March 20 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
San Antonio Saturday, March 22 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
Memphis Friday, March 28 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
New York Sunday, March 30 2014 9:00 PM EDT coverage
APRIL
@ Dallas Tuesday, April 01 2014 8:30 PM EDT coverage
@ San Antonio Wednesday, April 02 2014 8:30 PM EDT coverage
Sacramento Friday, April 04 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
Utah Sunday, April 06 2014 9:00 PM EDT coverage
Denver Thursday, April 10 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
@ Los Angeles Lakers Friday, April 11 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
@ Portland Sunday, April 13 2014 9:00 PM EDT coverage
Minnesota Monday, April 14 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
@ Denver Wednesday, April 16 2014 10:30 PM EDT coverage
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.