The 2011 Holiday Bowl has been marked so far by long stretches of nothing, but then punctuated by Giorgio Tavecchio kicking one field goal twice. The first attempt was called back as a result of an illegal formation, but Tavecchio connected on the second one to give the California Golden Bears a 3-0 lead over the Texas Longhorns. Tavecchio needed to wait until the game came back from a television timeout to attempt the second field goal.
Cal almost didn't get the chance to put points on the board, but keen eyesight and a review allowed Cal to retain the ball. Texas punted and it appeared that the Cal returner had muffed the catch, allowing Texas to regain possession. However, it was ruled that Texas illegally touched the ball on the play, giving Call the ball (but not until after a lengthy talk on the field and then a look at the video).
For more on the California Golden Bears visit SB Nation's Cal blog California Golden Blogs. For more on the Texas Longhorns visit SB Nation's Texas blog Burnt Orange Nation. Also stay tuned to SB Nation's 2011 college football bowl game coverage.