VIDEO: Aaron Rodgers Fumbles...Except He Doesn't. Tuck Rule!

As usual, things are going the way of the Green Bay Packers. While beating the Oakland Raiders 31-0 in the second quarter and driving in the red zone (seriously), Aaron Rodgers was hit from behind and appeared to fumble, with that fumble returned for a touchdown. The touchdown was nullified for a clipping penalty, but the fumble stood. Mike McCarthy challenged and won, on account of the good old tuck rule. Rodgers' arm was going forward and even though he looked like he wasn't going to throw, he hadn't yet gotten his arm back into a throwing position, so the ruling was an incomplete pass.

The best part? Even though the play was ruled an incomplete pass upon review - meaning the fumble return didn't count - the clipping penalty stood! That gave the Packers' an automatic first down. Rodgers ended up throwing an interception in the end zone, but it was still a hilarious break for the Packers that the clipping call stood.

For more on Rodgers and the Packers, visit our Packers blog ACME Packing Company.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.