2012 NFL Hall Of Fame Inductees: Curtis Martin, Willie Roaf Make It On Second Ballot

The Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2012 has been selected, with the maximum of five modern-era players selected to be enshrined and one veterans committee player selected. There were a number of surprises, but the group of 17 finalists was incredibly strong, and the limitations set by the Hall of Fame mean that a number of spectacular players are left out every season.

The first five modern-era finalists cut were Will Shields, Tim Brown, Jerome Bettis, Kevin Greene and Ed DeBartolo, Jr. That this group of five individuals could be cut from consideration before the final cut is a testament to how strong this group is. There were no first-ballot selections, but two players got in on their second try in 2012. Here are the inductees.

Dermontti Dawson: Center - Pittsburgh Steelers

Dawson played 184 games and started 181 games in his NFL career, playing his entire professional career with the Pittsburgh Steelers. In his time in the NFL, Dawson was a seven-time Pro Bowl selection and a six-time All-Pro selection.

Chris Doleman: Defensive End - Minnesota Vikings, Atlanta Falcons, San Fransisco 49ers

Doleman played the vast majority of his career with the Minnesota Vikings and retired with 150.5 sacks, then the fourth-highest career total. Doleman went to the Pro Bowl eight times and was named to the NFL All-Decade team for the 1990s.

Cortez Kennedy: Defensive Tackle - Seattle Seahawks

Though nose tackles are not usually on the field for their pass-rushing ability, Kennedy regularly recorded massive sack totals from the position. Playing his entire career with the Seahawks, Kennedy recorded 58 sacks as a pro and went to eight Pro Bowls.

Curtis Martin: Running Back - New England Patriots, New York Jets

A five-time Pro Bowl and All-Pro selection, Martin retired from football in 2005 as the fourth-leading rusher in NFL history, amassing over 14,000 yards on the ground in his career. Martin appeared in one Super Bowl and was also a recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.

Willie Roaf: Offensive Tackle - New Orleans Saints, Kansas City Chiefs

Roaf was somehow not a first-ballot selection, but has finally been rightfully enshrined on his second try. Roaf was one of the most dominant left tackles in NFL history and made 189 starts in his career. He was an 11-time Pro Bowl and six-time All-Pro selection, and was named to the All-Decade teams for the 1990s and 2000s.

Jack Butler: Cornerback - Pittsburgh Steelers

The lone veterans' committee inductee in 2012, Butler played for nine seasons with the Pittsburgh Steelers, was selected to four Pro Bowls and was first-team All Pro on three occasions.

Missed final cut

Bill Parcells: Head Coach - New York Giants, New England Patriots, New York Jets, Dallas Cowboys

Charles Haley: Outside Linebacker - Dallas Cowboys, San Fransisco 49ers

Cris Carter: Wide Receiver - Philadelphia Eagles, Minnesota Vikings, Miami Dolphins

Andre Reed: Wide Receiver - Buffalo Bills, Washington Redskins

Aeneas Williams: Defensive Back - Arizona Cardinals, St. Louis Rams

Dick Stanfel: Offensive Guard - Detroit Lions, Washington Redskins (Veterans' committee)

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.