Green Bay Packers 2013 training camp primer

Mike McGinnis

Will the Packers have enough talent around Aaron Rodgers to make another Super Bowl run?

The Green Bay Packers failed to make it past the Divisional Round of the NFL Playoffs for the second season in a row. While Aaron Rodgers had another stellar season, the running game and defense seemed to lag behind all year and ended up costing the Packers in a playoff loss to the 49ers.

Changes have been made in Green Bay, though, and the offense could look considerably different in 2013. With Aaron Rodgers still firmly in his prime, the Packers figure to be contending for a Super Bowl title again this season.

Offseason changes

As Packers fans have been accustomed to, general manager Ted Thompson let far more players walk in free agency than he brought in during the signing period. Gone are Ryan Grant, Cedric Benson, Greg Jennings, Donald Driver, Erik Walden, Desmond Bishop and Charles Woodson. Driver retired, but the rest of the veterans simply weren't worth the price tag.

Thompson did manage to inject some talent through the NFL Draft, however. In the first round, the Packers added Datone Jones to bolster a defensive line in need of some depth. Green Bay also drafted a pair of running backs, Alabama's Eddie Lacy and UCLA's Johnathan Franklin, to a backfield in desperate need of fresh legs. Both ranked among the best running backs in the class and complement one another nicely.

Training camp schedule and location

The Packers will once again hold training camp at Ray Nitschke Field in Green Bay. In total, the team will have 19 practices open to the public.

Here is a full schedule of event from the fine folks over at ACME Packing Company.

Date Event Time (CST)
Thursday, July 25 Players Report -
McCarthy's Season-Opening Presser 10:00 am
Friday, July 26 First Practice (Shells) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 8:20 am
Packers 1K Kids Run 6:00 pm
Movie Night at Lambeau Field 7:30 pm
Saturday, July 27 Practice (Shells) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 8:20 am
Packers 5K Run at Lambeau Field 6:30 pm
Sunday, July 28 Practice - OPEN TO PUBLIC 8:20 am
Monday, July 29 No Practice -
Tuesday, July 30 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 8:20 am
Wednesday, July 31 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 8:20 am
Thursday, August 1 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 8:20 am
Friday, August 2 Practice - OPEN TO PUBLIC 7:00 pm
Saturday, August 3 Family Night at Lambeau Field 6:30 pm
Sunday, August 4 No Practice -
Monday, August 5 Closed Practice n/a
Tuesday, August 6 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 8:20 am
Wednesday, August 7 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 8:20 am
Thursday, August 8 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 8:20
Friday, August 9 Preseason Game vs. Arizona Cardinals 7:00 pm
Saturday, August 10 No Practice -
Sunday, August 11 No Practice -
Monday, August 12 Closed Practice n/a
Tuesday, August 13 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 11:15 am
Wednesday, August 14 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 11:15 am
Thursday, August 15 Practice (Helmets) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 11:00 am
Friday, August 16 No Practice -
Saturday, August 17 Preseason Game at St. Louis Rams 7:00 pm
Sunday, August 18 No Practice -
Monday, August 19 Practice (Shells) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 11:30 am
Tuesday, August 20 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 11:15 am
Wednesday, August 21 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 11:00 am
Thursday, August 22 No Practice -
Friday, August 23 Preseason Game vs. Seattle Seahawks 7:00 pm
Saturday, August 24 No Practice -
Sunday, August 25 Practice (Shells) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 11:30 am
Monday, August 26 Practice (Full Pads) - OPEN TO PUBLIC 11:15 am
Tuesday, August 27 Practice (Full Pads) - FINAL PRACTICE OPEN TO PUBLIC 11:00 am
Wednesday, August 28 No Practice -
Thursday, August 29 Preseason Game at Kansas City Chiefs 7:00 pm

Position Battles

Running back - Both Lacy and Franklin are capable of carrying the load, but they also complement one another nicely. The two can function as a tandem, but one will likely get a bigger share of the load. That will depend on who is able to stay healthy and produce through the preseason and training camp.

Right tackle - Marshall Newhouse, Don Barclay and Derek Sherrod will have a three-way competition to decide who starts at right tackle opposite Bryan Bulaga at left tackle. Sherrod is a former first-round pick that has been injury plagued, while Newhouse and Barclay have gotten more snaps the last two seasons due to injuries along the offensive line.

Safety - Morgan Burnett recently received a contract extension, but he needs a running mate in the Packers' secondary next season. Jerron McMillian and M.D. Jennings have both flashed potential early in their careers. McMillian is a particularly intriguing prospect after he brought some life to the Packers' defense in limited action as a rookie in 2012.

More from SB Nation:

Belichick opens up about Hernandez | Florida removes All-America brick

SB Nation's guide to sports networks

David Roth: Robert Griffin III gets up

How to defend the read option

Complete NFL training camp coverage

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.