If the Rangers lose Game 7, we're never going to hear the end of this one. With a 2-1 lead and the Capitals on the power play, the puck seemed to go in the net behind Braden Holtby. The Caps goalie made the initial save, but then was bumped by Dennis Wideman. The puck clearly crossed the goal line upon review, but the officials quickly waived it off after conferring with the video evidence.
We're not sure of the real explanation because the referee forgot to turn his mic on while explaining things to the Madison Square Garden crowd, but there seem to be two possibilities:
- The old "intent to blow" rule. The ref thought the puck was covered, and even though he didn't blow his whistle, he had intended to and just couldn't do it quickly enough. No goal.
- The officials said that Brian Boyle bumped Holtby (there was slight contact with Boyle's skate and Holtby's leg), pushing him into a position where he couldn't make the save. Incidental contact isn't goalie interference, but the goal is always waived off in that case.
We'd know the real answer if NHL officials knew where the on button was on their mics. But, alas.