NHL Awards 2012: SB Nation Bloggers Select Lady Byng Trophy Winner

OTTAWA, ON - JANUARY 29: Brian Campbell #51 of the Florida Panthers and Team Chara poses prior to the 2012 NHL All-Star Game at Scotiabank Place on January 29, 2012 in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. (Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)

SB Nation's collection of hockey bloggers have teamed up to vote for the 2012 NHL Awards. Today, we reveal our selection for the Lady Byng Trophy, awarded to the NHL's most gentlemanly player. Monday: Vezina Trophy. Tuesday: Norris Trophy.

The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the NHL's most gentlemanly player. Nice guys. Here at SB Nation, bloggers from our 33 hockey blogs have cast their own ballots for the award.

Ballots featured three fill-in-the-blank spaces for the Lady Byng Trophy, and voters were asked to select a third-place finisher, a second-place finisher and a winner for the award. Players receiving third-place votes were awarded one point, second-place votes were awarded two points and first-place votes were awarded three points. 40 ballots were submitted in total.

And the winner is ....

Brian Campbell, Florida Panthers


Here's the full points breakdown -- not votes, but points, based on the criteria detailed above. Three points for a first-place vote, two points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote:

Brian Campbell 4 Brian Campbell 14 Brian Campbell 39 57
Matt Moulson 11 Matt Moulson 12 Matt Moulson 15 38
Jordan Eberle 5 Jordan Eberle 18 Jordan Eberle 6 29
Pavel Datsyuk 5 Pavel Datsyuk 2 Pavel Datsyuk 3 10
Loui Eriksson 1 Loui Eriksson 6 Loui Eriksson 3 10

Nicklas Lidstrom 9 9

Adam Henrique 8


Patrik Elias 2 Patrik Elias 6 8
Teemu Selanne 1

Teemu Selanne 6 7
Andrew Brunette 1

Andrew Brunette 6 7

Frans Nielsen 6

Jamie McBain 1

Jamie McBain 3 4
Kimmo Timonen 2 Kimmo Timonen 2

Martin St. Louis 1 Martin St. Louis 2


Karl Alzner 3 3

Jared Spurgeon 3 3

Not Matt Cooke 3 3

Anze Kopitar 3 3

Steven Stamkos 3 3

Patrice Bergeron 3 3

Kevin Klein 3 3

Daniel Alfredsson 3 3

Pekka Rinne 2


John Tavares 2


Cory Schneider 2

Kyle Wellwood 2

Ray Whitney 2

Jason Pominville 1

Phil Kessel 1

Be sure to check in with your favorite SB Nation hockey blogs to see how writers covering each team cast their ballots. Check back on Thursday as we announce our winner of the Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL's top rookie.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.