Suddenly, we have a hockey game.
Just 32 seconds into the second period, Ryan Callahan redirected a puck on goal. It didn't hit Martin Brodeur or the goal post, and that means it went into the net. What was once a 3-0 Devils lead has suddenly been cut to 3-2 with plenty of time left in the hockey game.
One question, though: Did Callahan kick the puck into the goal? The officials ruled in favor of Callahan, claiming there was no distinct kicking motion, but let's take a closer look at the replay anyway.
In this first replay, watch the puck come in from the top left while keeping a close eye on Callahan's left skate.
That certainly looks like a distinct kicking motion to me, but you can be the judge for yourself. In any event, the goal counts and it's just a 3-2 Devils lead now.
Stick with our StoryStream for full coverage of Devils vs. Rangers Game 5. For more on the Devils, check in with In Lou We Trust, and for more on the Rangers, check in with Blueshirt Banter. For complete coverage of the 2012 NHL Stanley Cup playoffs, stay tuned to SB Nation's dedicated NHL hub.