It certainly looked to us like Ryan Callahan kicked in his early second-period goal. The call was a pivotal moment in this Game 5 between the Devils and Rangers, and with the Eastern Conference final tied at two games apiece, an incorrect call by the officials could loom large.
The NHL's Situation Room upheld the call on the ice that it was a good goal, and they handed down a solid explanation via NHL.com just moments later:
At 0:32 of the second period in the Rangers/Devils game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Artem Anisimov's cross-ice pass deflected off Ryan Callahan's leg and into the Devils' net. According to rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal New York.
It's not a goal if Callahan distinctly kicked the puck in the net, but what if he's making a kicking motion while the puck deflects off his shin? That could be a different story. What do you think? Was it the right call or the wrong call here?