NHL Awards 2012: SB Nation Bloggers Make Masterton Trophy Selection

Mar 12, 2012; Buffalo, NY, USA; Montreal Canadiens left wing Max Pacioretty (67) during play in the game against the Buffalo Sabres at the First Niagara Center. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Hoffman-US PRESSWIRE

SB Nation's collection of hockey bloggers have teamed up to vote for the 2012 NHL Awards. Today, we reveal our selection for the Masterton Trophy. Monday: Vezina Trophy. Tuesday: Norris Trophy. Wednesday: Lady Byng Trophy. Thursday: Calder Trophy.

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to the game. Here at SB Nation, bloggers from our 33 hockey blogs have cast their own ballots for the award.

Ballots featured three fill-in-the-blank spaces for the Masterton Trophy, and voters were asked to select a third-place finisher, a second-place finisher and a winner for the award. Players receiving third-place votes were awarded one point, second-place votes were awarded two points and first-place votes were awarded three points. 40 ballots were submitted in total.

And the winner is ....

Max Pacioretty, Montreal Canadiens


Second-place: Joffrey Lupul of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Third-place: Daniel Alfredsson of the Ottawa Senators.

Others receiving votes: Manny Malhotra, Tomas Fleischmann, Ray Emery, Peter Mueller, Jordin Tootoo, Jaromir Jagr, Tommy Wingels, Sidney Crosby, Claude Giroux, Jeff Carter, Martin St. Louis, Matt Moulson, Petr Sykora, Ray Whitney, Matt Cooke, Frans Nielsen .... and alright, just look at the table below. There are a lot of dudes.

Here's the full points breakdown -- not votes, but points, based on the criteria detailed above. Three points for a first-place vote, two points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote:

Max Pacioretty 2 Max Pacioretty 12 Max Pacioretty 39 53
Joffrey Lupul 9 Joffrey Lupul 10 Joffrey Lupul 9 28
Daniel Alfredsson 5 Daniel Alfredsson 8 Daniel Alfredsson 12 25
Manny Malhotra 2 Manny Malhotra 4 Manny Malhotra 12 18
Tomas Fleischmann 2 Tomas Fleischmann 6 Tomas Fleischmann 9 17

Ray Emery 4 Ray Emery 9 13

Peter Mueller 8

Jordin Tootoo 1 Jordin Tootoo 2 Jordin Tootoo 3 6
Jaromir Jagr 3 Jaromir Jagr 2


Tommy Wingels 2 Tommy Wingels 3 5

Sidney Crosby 4


Claude Giroux 3 3

Jeff Carter 3 3

Martin St. Louis 3 3

Matt Moulson 3 3

Petr Sykora 3 3

Ray Whitney 3 3
Matt Cooke 1 Matt Cooke 2


Frans Nielsen 2


Kari Lehtonen 2


Roman Hamrlik 2


Sean Avery 2


Shawn Horcoff 2


Sheldon Souray 2

Brian Elliott 1

Bryce Salvador 1

David Legwand 1

Daymond Langkow 1

Jose Theodore 1

Justin Williams 1

Mike Smith 1

Milan Hejduk 1

Patrick Kane 1

Pavel Datsyuk 1

Pierre-Marc Bouchard 1


Be sure to check in with your favorite SB Nation hockey blogs to see how writers covering each team cast their ballots. Check back on Monday as we announce our winner of the Jack Adams Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL's top coach.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.