Derek Stepan took a big hit to the head in the third period of Wednesday's game.
New York Rangers forward Derek Stepan had to briefly leave Wednesday's game in Washington after he was on the wrong end of a collision involving Troy Brouwer of the Washington Capitals.
There was no penalty called on the play as referee Chris Rooney told the Rangers bench that it was simply a collision as Brouwer was going for a line change.
Stepan immediately went to the locker room but was back on the Rangers bench midway through the period.
Brouwer said after the game that it was accidental and that he did not see Stepan on his way to the bench.
Stepan has yet to score a goal for the Rangers this season in five games but has been credited with five assists.
• Sharks win battle of unbeatens
• Dan Boyle leaves ice on stretcher after hit
• Projecting future performance from a standout season
• Chris Pronger "is never going to play again," Flyers confirm
• Patrick Kaleta suspended 10 games