It's been a season filled with questionable calls from referees, and the Sharks finally got their taste of it on Monday night.
With the Sharks up by a goal and on the power play, Logan Couture seemingly deflected a shot from the point that slipped by Viktor Fasth. There were apparently two calls on the play: one referee called it a goal, but the nearest ref to the play called it a no-goal.
The play was reviewed by the folks in Toronto, and video replays seemed to clearly show that Couture's stick was well beneath the crossbar when he deflected the shot. About as clear cut as you can get, right?
Best look at the (mistakenly) disallowed @Logancouture goal: twitpic.com/cefd4x #sjsharks— Brodie Brazil (@brodiebrazilCSN) March 25, 2013
Wrong. The officials ruled that the video evidence was "inconclusive" and that the play was ruled a no-goal based on the call from the referee nearest to the play. The Sharks were justifiably upset, but none of it mattered in the end, as the Sharks scored again later in the period (and survived that video review) to regain the two-goal lead.