Ryan McDonagh's shot never went in, but he celebrated anyway

Ryan McDonagh came within an inch of winning Game 5.

Post_medium


About midway through the first overtime period of Game 5, the New York Rangers thought they had won the game. When Ryan McDonagh's slap shot rang off the post he raised his hands in celebration, certain he had just brought his team within one win of tying the Stanley Cup Final. But the referees didn't signal a goal, and play continued.

The next few minutes were harrowing, as the play couldn't be reviewed until a stoppage of play. When they finally got a look at a replay it was pretty clear that McDonagh was just inches short of scoring the game-winner.

Post2_medium

More from SBNation.com

SB Nation Featured Video
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.