English Premier League 2011, Week 8 Preview And Fixtures: Liverpool Host Manchester United In Weekend's Key Fixture

It's week eight of the Premier League season, and we've had the benefit of an international break to remind us how much we miss football. Hurray.

Hello preview friends! Aaron is occupied this week and so you're getting a lesser product in your Premier League preview this time around. That's ok, though - it's been so long since Premier League football last happened that I'm sure everyone's forgotten what it even is. International breaks are the worst. The worst!

Saturday October 15th

Liverpool vs. Manchester United
12:45 PM GMT (7:45 AM EST); Anfield

Don't worry if you miss this one, y'all. Nothing interesting has ever happened in a game between Liverpool and Manchester United..

Pick: 2-1 United.

Manchester City vs. Aston Villa
3:00 PM GMT (10:00 AM EST); Etihad Stadium

Remember Aston Villa's unbeaten record this season? That was a nice little run for Alex McLeish's guys. Too bad it's over now, right? Sorry, I was speaking from after this game, which takes the p right out of preview. I don't even know what's going on in that last sentence. Sorry. What I do know is that Manchester City are going to crush Villa so badly they're going to be feeling it for a decade.

Pick: 4-0 City.

Norwich City vs. Swansea City
3:00 PM GMT (10:00 AM EST); Carrow Road

Is this the first game between newly promoted sides all season? My memory says it is, for what that's worth. These games are always fantastic, because both teams will be gunning for three big points - a draw does neither of them any good. Add in the natural attacking ability both teams possess, and we're in for a good one here. Swansea's poor away form will be the difference.

Pick: 3-1 Norwich.

Queens Park Rangers vs. Blackburn Rovers
3:00 PM GMT (10:00 AM EST); Loftus Road

Sometimes people ask me if there's a football team I really really don't like. Since I am a Chelsea fan, they expect me to say something like "Manchester United" or "Arsenal", and are pretty surprised when I say "Blackburn Rovers" instead. You can actually test the speed of someone's memory recall like this - the instant they remember a Blackburn game, comprehension dawns.

Pick: 1-0 QPR.

Stoke City vs. Fulham
3:00 PM GMT (10:00 AM EST); Britannia Stadium

How am I supposed to make snarky comments about Blackburn and then Stoke back to back? They're the same team apart from the immensely likeable Rory Delap, who is enough to raise Stoke from the fiery pits of Ryan Shawcross's personal hell (I presume this involves books) to merely slightly dislikable. God help them when Delap retires. And no, Fulham aren't scoring six again.

Pick: 2-0 Stoke.

Wigan Athletic vs. Bolton Wanderers
3:0 PM GMT (10:00 AM EST); DW Stadium

Here we have the second big test of Bolton's season. Although they've been pretty appalling, the Trotters have only had one bad result - the 2-1 loss at home to Norwich. Nobody was expecting much from the other games. If he loses at the DW Stadium, however, things are going to get really really ugly, even by Owen Coyle's face standards.

Pick: 2-1 Wigan.

Chelsea vs. Everton
5:30 PM GMT (12:30 PM EST); Stamford Bridge.

"Cast your mind back to the last time Chelsea managed to beat Everton."

-Stephen Spielberg's pitch for Terra Nova.

Yeah I guess that you're not going to understand this one unless you live in America. Whatever. It's still funny. Dinosaurs! Dinosaurs and people!

Pick: 1-1 Draw

Sunday October 16th

West Bromwich Albion vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers
12:00 PM GMT (7:00 AM EST); The Hawthorns.

Why?.

Pick: 0-0 Draw.

Arsenal vs. Sunderland
1:30 PM GMT (8:30 AM EST); Emirates Stadium.

It's the battle of the underperformers here in London. Rumour has it that the two clubs will battle for the signature of one Ian Maginary - Sunderland want to start up front while Arsene Wenger's looking to slot him into his defence.

Pick: 2-0 Arsenal.

Newcastle United vs. Tottenham Hotspur
4:00 PM GMT (11:00 AM EST); St. James' Park.

It's something fairly close to impossible to figure out just how good Tottenham Hotspur are - yeah, they've beaten both Arsenal and Liverpool, but they've also managed to get absolutely obliterated by both Manchester City and United in the early going. Making a prediction here seems entirely futile

Pick: We will all someday die. That's life.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.