Serie A 2011, Week 15 Preview And Fixtures: All Eyes On Rome

Coach Luis Enrique of AS Roma gestures during the Serie A match between AS Roma and Juventus FC at Stadio Olimpico in Rome, Italy. (Photo by Paolo Bruno/Getty Images)

In Week 15, Serie A offers very little in the way of compelling matchups for Saturday, but Sunday has some tasty games.

The good news: There's no early match on Sunday in Serie A. The bad news: the early match on Saturday features two teams that would be in the relegation zone were everything decided based on number of goals scored. In fact, much of Saturday can probably be ignored. The Viola can't figure out how to win when they're face with eleven opponents, whereas Atalanta are attempting to stay in Serie A by picking up one point each week. Meanwhile, Milan are undefeated in their last 9 Serie A matches and play Siena, who are but one Cesena victory from slipping into the bottom three.

No, the real story this week is centered on Rome, where Lazio host Udinese, while rivals Roma travel to Naples. Udinese remain locked in a struggle with Juventus for the top of the table, but keep managing to pull off impressive late-game goals. Lazio, however, have Miroslav Klose. It rather balances out. As for Napoli, well, the most that can be said is at least they haven't had a European tie to worry about this week. They looked unimpressive against Novara last week. Roma came out swinging against Juve, got a goal, and then bunkered down to make sure not more than an equalizer went in. Wouldn't surprise me at all if we saw more of the same this weekend.


Saturday

Chievo Verona v Cagliari (18:00 CET/12 noon ET)

Fiorentina v Atalanta (20:45 CET/14:45 ET)

AC Milan v Siena (20:45 CET/14:45 ET)

 

Sunday

(All matches 15:00 CET/9:00 ET unless otherwise noted)

Catania v Palermo

Cesena v Inter Milan

Genoa v Bologna

Juventus v Novara

Parma v Lecce

Lazio v Udinese (20:45 CET/14:45 ET)

Napoli v AS Roma (20:45 CET/14:45 ET)

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.