2011-2012 DFB-Pokal First Round Draw Announced: Schalke 04 Draw Amateur Side FC Teningen

BERLIN, GERMANY - MAY 21: Benedikt Hoewedes of Schalke kisses the cup after the DFB Cup final match between MSV Duisburg and FC Schalke 04 at Olympic Stadium on May 21, 2011 in Berlin, Germany. (Photo by Lars Baron/Bongarts/Getty Images)

The draw for the 2011-2012 DFB-Pokal was announced this week. Defending champions Schalke have drawn amateur side FC Teningen from the 7th division of German football.

With the draw for the 2011-2012 DFB-Pokal took place this week, it's probably a good time give a little background on the competition itself..

The tournament first began in 1935 under the name Tschammer-Pokal, butwas suspended in 1943 due to World War II and shortly thereafter disbanded. It would be reinstated by the German Football Association (DFB) in 1952 under it's current name, DFB-Pokal. The final has been held at the Olympic Stadium in Berlin every year since 1985.

Bayern Munich have won the competition a record 15 times while Werder Bremen have won it 6 times and Schalke 04 have won it 5 times. Schalke 04 won the 2010-2011 DFB-Pokal with a 5-0 beatdown of 2.Bundesliga club Duisburg.

There are 64 teams in the competition, and the way they determine who is in the tournament is pretty simple. Did you play in the Bundesliga in the 2010-2011 season? You're in the tournament. Did you play in the 2.Bundesliga in the 2010-2011 season? You're in the tournament. Did you finish first, second, third or fourth in the 3.Liga in the 2010-2011 season? You're in the tournament! This gives you a total of 40 teams. The next part is a little complicated.

The remaining 24 spots are awarded to clubs in the 3.Liga and below. These positions are determined by the 21 regional cup competitions. Sides from the Bundesliga and the 2.Bundesliga are not permitted to enter these competitions. The remaining three spots in the tournament are given to the three states with the most participants in their tournament. It is up to each regional association to award this spot, but it normally is given to the runner-up in the regional association cup.

To recap everything I just said, you will have 18 Bundesliga teams, 18 2.Bundesliga teams, the top 4 teams from 3.Liga, and then the remaining 24 sides from the regional association cups.

To complete the draw the split the teams into two pots. The first pot contains all 24 sides that qualified from their regional association cup, the top 4 teams from 3.Liga, and the bottom 4 teams from 2.Bundesliga. The second pot contains the remaining 2.Bundesliga teams and all of the Bundesliga teams. There is a team drawn from each pot, and that is how your match-up is determined. For the first round the club drawn from pot one will host the matches.

Defending champion Schalke 04 will open their title defense against amateur side FC Teningen from the 7th division of German football! Runners-up Duisburg will begin the competition against 3.Liga side SV Babelsberg 03. Bayern Munich will open the competition against newly promoted 2.Bundesliga side Eintracht Braunschweig.

Here is the entire list of the first round matches. The home side is listed first.

Amateur vs. Bundesliga
FC Teningen - Schalke 04
BFC Dynamo Berlin - 1. FC Kaiserslautern
ZFC Meuselwitz - Hertha BSC Berlin
Germania Windeck - 1899 Hoffenheim
RB Leipzig - VfL Wolfsburg
SVN Zweibrücken - FSV Mainz 05
SC Wiedenbrück 2000 - 1. FC Köln
FC Anker Wismar - Hannover 96
VfB Oldenburg - Hamburger SV

Amateur vs. 2.Bundesliga
Rot-Weiss Essen - Union Berlin
Hessen Kassel - Fortuna Düsseldorf
FC Oberneuland - FC Ingolstadt
Holstein Kiel - Energie Cottbus
Hallescher FC - Eintracht Frankfurt
Eintracht Trier - FC St. Pauli
Rot Weiss Ahlen - SC Paderborn
Eimsbütteler TV - SpVgg Greuther Fürth
Kickers Emden - FSV Frankfurt

3.Liga vs. Bundesliga
SpVgg Unterhaching - SC Freiburg
1. FC Heidenheim - Werder Bremen
SV Sandhausen - Borussia Dortmund
Arminia Bielefeld - 1. FC Nürnberg
SSV Jahn Regensburg - Borussia Mönchengladbach
SV Wehen Wiesbaden - VfB Stuttgart
Rot-Weiß Oberhausen - FC Augsburg

3.Liga vs. 2.Bundesliga
1. FC Saarbrücken - Erzgebirge Aue
SV Babelsberg 03 - MSV Duisburg
VfL Osnabrück - 1860 München

2.Bundesliga vs. 2.Bundesliga
Karlsruher SC - Alemannia Aachen
Hansa Rostock - VfL Bochum

2.Bundesliga vs. Bundesliga
Dynamo Dresden - Bayer Leverkusen
Eintracht Braunschweig - Bayern München

In This Article

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.