MLS All-Star Game 2011: Hans Backe Announces Roster For Match Vs. Manchester United

Hans Backe will have a roster of players who shouldn't be too intimidated by the likes of Manchester United when he leads the MLS All-Stars in their July 27 match. Among the players he named to the gameday roster are EPL veterans Thierry Henry, David Beckham and Landon Donovan; current and former internationals Faryd Mondragon, Omar Cummings, Juan Agudelo and Omar Bravo; and previous All-Star participants Shalrie Joseph, Chris Wondolowski and Brad Davis.

The gameday roster -- which includes all the available players who had previously been named to the team, as well 13 other players chosen by Backe -- will have a nice mix of experience and youth, and would seem at least capable of remaining competitive with Manchester United for periods.

Backe, somewhat surprisingly, named four Houston Dynamo players to his roster, the most of any team. Joining Davis, the league's assist leader, were Corey Ashe, Geoff Cameron and Tally Hall. Among Backe's other selections were Bobby Convey, Jamison Olave, Heath Pearce, Kyle Beckerman, Shalrie Joseph, Nick LaBrocca and Chris Wondolowski.

Kasey Keller and Brek Shea were named to the team, but will not participate due to CONCACAF Champions League. Omar Gonzalez and Rafael Marquez were also named, but won't play due to injury.

In all 26 of the 32 CBA-required All-Star team spots have now been named. The remaining six spots will be filled by a player vote.

Goalkeeper: Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Faryd Mondragón (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders: Corey Ashe (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo), Bobby Convey(San Jose Earthquakes), Sean Franklin (LA Galaxy), Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake), Heath Pearce (Chivas USA), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls).

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Jack Jewsbury (Portland Timbers), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution), Nick LaBrocca (Chivas USA)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Omar Bravo (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Cummings (Colorado Rapids), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Inactive All-Stars (Note that another six inactive All-Stars will be chosen via player voting):

Kasey Keller (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Rafa Marquez (New York Red Bulls), Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

In This Article

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.