UEFA Europa League 2011, Matchday 2 Preview And Fixtures: PSG Goes To La Catedral, Celtic Face Udinese

Kevin Gameiro of Paris St Germain reacts after missing a chance during the Emirates Cup match between Boca Juniors and Paris St Germain. PSG takes on Athletic Bilbao in the UEFA Europa League on Thursday, September 29. 2011.

PSG's trip to the Basque Country and Celtic's match against Udinese highlight Matchday 2 in the UEFA Europa League

Another Thursday, another 24 fixtures in the UEFA Europa League. Matchday 1 was nice and entertaining, but produced no significant upsets. All of the 'big' teams in the competition are at least on one point at the moment, but a number of those teams are going to be tested this Thursday. Among the biggest matches are Athletic Bilbao vs. Paris St. Germain, Celtic vs. Udinese, Rennes vs. Atletico Madrid, and Sporting Lisbon vs. Lazio.

Unfortunately, it's 77 degrees Fahrenheit and sunny in Stoke-On-Trent, England today, so we won't get to see whether or not the technically skilled players on Besiktas can do it on a wet and windy night in Stoke. Rapid Bucharest vs. PSV Eindhoven is a clash of teams who won their first game of the competition, as is FC Metalist Kharkiv vs. AZ Alkmaar. American international striker Jozy Altidore, who has completely resurrected his career in the last two months, should play for AZ today. Braga and Club Brugge, two teams either at the top of or tied for the top spot in their respective domestic leagues also play in what should be a great match.

There are two major sets of fixtures, the 1:00 pm EST/6:00 pm BST games and the 3:00 pm EST/8:00 pm BST games. The exceptions are two early games that will get started beforehand because of time zone differences - Rubin Kazan vs. PAOK Salonika and Lokomotiv Moscow vs. Anderlecht. Here's the complete schedule, with some TV information on the games that are widely available in the USA and UK. If you live in the USA and you have DirecTV, you can find all of these games on the DirecTV Soccer channels. Check the 480s on your guide.

Super Early Games

Rubin Kazan vs. PAOK Salonika - 11:00 am EST, 4:00 pm BST, 6:00 pm CEST

Lokomotiv Moscow vs. Anderlecht - 12:00 pm EST, 5:00 pm BST, 6:00 pm CEST

Early Games (All Times 1:00 pm EST, 6:00 pm BST, 7:00 pm CEST)

FC Metalist Kharkiv vs. AZ Alkmaar

Malmo FF vs. Austria Vienna

Braga vs. Club Brugge

NK Maribor vs. Birmingham

Celtic vs. Udinese - ESPN UK

Stade Rennes vs. Atletico Madrid - GolTV USA

AEK Larnaca vs. Steaua Bucharest

Schalke 04 vs. Maccabi Haifa

Odense BK vs. Fulham

FC Twente vs. Wisla Krakow

AEK Athens vs. SK Sturm Graz

Late Games (All Times 3:00 pm EST, 8:00 pm BST, 9:00 pm CEST)

Tottenham Hotspur vs. Shamrock Rovers

Standard Liege vs. FC Copenhagen

Vorskla vs. Hannover 96

Legia Warsaw vs. Hapoel Tel-Aviv

Rapid Bucharest vs. PSV Eindhoven

FC Vaslui vs. FC Copenhagen

Sporting Lisbon vs. Lazio - GolTV USA

Maccabi Tel-Aviv vs. Dynamo Kiev

Stoke City vs. Besiktas

Athletic Bilbao vs. Paris St. Germain - ESPN UK

SV Salzburg vs. Slovan Brataslava

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.