Serie A 2012, Week 28 Preview And Fixtures: European Misadventures Won't Dull Hopes For Third

Dejan Stankovic of FC Internazionale Milano looks dejections at the end of the UEFA Champions League Round of 16 second leg match between FC Internazionale Milano and Olympique de Marseille at Stadio Giuseppe Meazza in Milan, Italy. (Photo by Valerio Pennicino/Getty Images)

Serie A clubs may have faced disappointment in European competition this past week, but they're still fighting for the coveted top five slots.

Pack up the fancy kits, throw away the plane tickets and settle back into the calcio rhythm. Italy had a turbulent time of it this week in Europe, with both Inter and Napoli getting knocked out of the Champions League, while Udinese fell to AZ Alkmaar in the Europa League. Now the burden of representing the peninsula falls entirely upon Milan, who are also keen to keep up their title bid.

But despite the lack of European advancement, the dream of next year is still very much in the minds of many Serie A clubs, owners, and fans. While Milan looks to be pulling away with the title, the scramble for third -- and, let's face it, even second, with the way Juventus are playing -- is growing increasingly convoluted. Can Roma still make a push? Will Udinese, so bright at the start of the season, continue to fall? Will we see Napoli in the Champions League again next season?

While certain squads might be failing to live up to expectations this season (Fiorentina, Palermo, and, of course, Inter) it doesn't seem like any of them will meet the same fate of Sampdoria last time around. Cesena seem almost certain to drop down, Novara has barely a chance, and even Lecce remain six back of safety. It almost makes one hope for a bit of a meltdown at the weekend, just to watch the exciting race back toward Serie B.

Enjoy!

Schedule


Saturday

Parma - AC Milan (18:00 CET/13:00 ET)

Fiorentina - Juventus (20:45 CET/15:45 ET)


Sunday (all 15:00 CET/10:00 ET unless otherwise noted)

Cagliari - Cesena (12:30 CET/7:30 ET)

Bologna - Chievo Verona

Catania - Lazio

Inter Milan - Atalanta

Lecce - Palermo

Siena - Novara

Udinese - Napoli (20:45 CET/15:45 ET)


Monday

AS Roma - Genoa (20:45 CET/15:45 ET)

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.