Serie A 2012, Week 29 Preview And Fixtures: Derby D'Italia Dominates The Schedule

Lucio (R) of FC Inter Milan and Alessandro Matri of Juventus FC compete for the ball during the Serie A match between FC Internazionale Milano and Juventus FC at Stadio Giuseppe Meazza in Milan, Italy. (Photo by Claudio Villa/Getty Images)

Since you have to wait until Sunday night to watch the Derby d'Italia, might as well check out the Serie A schedule to see just what will quench your thirst for calcio until that point.

We fans of calcio can all pretend we care about matches like Atalanta v Bologna, but let's face it, this week, it's all about the Derby d'Italia. Juventus and Inter might not inhabit the same city -- the distance between Milan and Turin makes this derby more akin to ones in Major League Soccer than ones in Europe -- but the rivalry between the two clubs is fierce. Of course, most years the two are closer in the standings...

Prior to the derby on Sunday evening, the gods of Italian football (otherwise known as the FIGC) have provided us with a tasty morsel in the form of Milan v Roma. The rossoneri look to widen the gap at the top of the table, while Roma, who nicked a win over Genoa last week, are still trying to prove they have a place in Europe.

Look for more extensive previews of both matches tomorrow!

As for the others, it's probably worth a look in at Palermo v Udinese, if only to see just how far Zamparini can be pushed before he reaches the breaking point. Will the zebrette stop their downward tumble and re-establish themselves in the race for third, or will Mutti live to see another week?

On Sunday, your best bet before the derby is Napoli - Catania. The partenopei are back within reach of the Champions League positions, but could face trouble against a club whose propensity for speed and trickery is similar to their own. But with both sides prone to hilarious shakes at the back, this could be a goal fest.*

*note: because I said this, it will end 0-0. Place your bets now.


Saturday, March 23

AC Milan v AS Roma (17:00 CET, 12 noon ET)

Palermo v Udinese (20:45 CET, 15:45 ET)

Sunday, March 24 (all games at 15:00 CET/9:00 ET unless otherwise noted)

Atalanta v Bologna (12:30 CET, 7:30 ET)

Cesena v Parma

Chievo Verona v Siena

Genoa v Fiorentina

Lazio v Cagliari

Napoli v Catania

Novara v Lecce

Juventus v Inter Milan (20:45 CET, 14:45 ET)

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.