Bundesliga 2012, Week 28 Preview And Fixtures: Can Gladbach Find Their Sparkling Form Again?

MOENCHENGLADBACH, GERMANY - MARCH 10: Marco Reus of Moenchengladbach looks dejected during the Bundesliga match between Borussia Moenchengladbach and SC Freiburg at Borussia Park Stadium on March 10, 2012 in Moenchengladbach, Germany. (Photo by Lars Baron/Bongarts/Getty Images)

Borussia Mönchengladbach have struggled in recent weeks. Will they bounce back soon?

Gladbach Are Freeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Free Fallin'

Yup. I used a lame Tom Petty reference there. No. Petty is not lame. Free Fallin' is not one of his better songs. No, your opinion doesn't matter here. Will I still sing it when it comes on the radio? Yes. Yes I will. Anyway ...

This is the eleventh match since the winter break. Let's break down Gladbach's start to the Rückrunde: 10 matches, 5 wins, 3 draws, and 2 losses.

It doesn't look that bad, but let's look at it just a little bit closer. The last five matches have only seen one win. They're not on the greatest run of form right now. They've fallen to fourth place and two points behind Schalke. Remarkably, they're still eleven points in front of fifth place Bayer Leverkusen.

Now, the sky isn't falling for Gladbach. Patrick Herrmann is back! Yes, I know he has been back for a week or two now, but he will really be back in the next week or two. I expect we'll see Herrmann, Juan Arango, Marco Reus and Mike Hanke get back into form soon.

Is Dante's head turned to Bayern Munich? There were stories this week and last that the Brazilian centerback was signing a pre-contract to join Bayern in the summer. What did Dante do in the semifinal of the DFB-Pokal against Bayern? He blasted it over the goal, of course.

He and the rest of the defense need to find their focus for this weekend's match in Hannover. After allowing only 15 goals in their first 25 matches, the defense was being lauded as the best in the country. Their last two matches have seen them uncharacteristically surrender three goals. Getting the defense back into top form is the top priority if the club has any hope of finishing ahead of Schalke in one of the three automatic Champions League group stage places for next season.

Fixtures

Friday, March 30

Borussia Dortmund vs Stuttgart - 20:30 CET / 3:30 PM ET

Saturday, March 31

Augsburg vs Köln - 15:30 CET & 10:30AM EST

Nürnberg vs Bayern Munich - 15:30 CET & 10:30AM EST

Kaiserslautern vs Hamburg - 15:30 CET & 10:30AM EST

Werder Bremen vs Mainz - 15:30 CET & 10:30AM EST

Bayer Leverkusen vs Freiburg - 15:30 CET & 10:30AM EST

Hertha Berlin vs Wolfsburg - 18:30 CET & 1:30PM EST

Sunday, April 1

Hannover 96 vs Borussia Mönchengladbach - 15:30 CET & 10:30AM EST

Hoffenheim vs Schalke - 17:30 CET & 12:30PM EST

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.